University of South Carolina

Goldwater award recipients Stephen Timko (left) and Sarah Pulliam
Goldwater award recipients Stephen Timko (left) and Sarah Pulliam

Continued: Goldwater

She works in the lab of Dr. Johannes Stratmann in the university’s department of biological sciences as part of a National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates and was awarded a Magellan Scholarship and Science Undergraduate Research Fellowship. She volunteers regularly with Project Pet and Keep the Midlands Beautiful.

Timko is the son of Lynn Pruitt-Timko and Joseph Timko of Vicksburg, Mich. He is the recipient of the McNair Scholarship, the most prestigious out-of-state scholarship for undergraduates, and a Lieber Scholarship for the university’s national merit finalists. He hosts a weekly jazz show on the campus radio station, works as a volunteer at the Waverly Center After-School Program and is the sophomore representative for the McNair Scholars Association.

A graduate of the Kalamazoo Area Math and Science Center (KAMSC), Timko began independent research in high school and received two of KAMSC’s Outstanding Research Project Awards in addition to being named an American Chemical Society Outstanding High School Senior. He is conducting research in the lab of Dr. John Ferry in USC’s department of chemistry and biochemistry and said he plans to earn a doctorate in chemical oceanography.

The Goldwater is awarded nationally to sophomores and juniors pursuing bachelor’s degrees in natural sciences, mathematics or engineering and intending to pursue careers in research and/or college-level teaching. Virtually all intend to obtain a Ph.D. in their respective fields.

This year marks the 17th consecutive year that USC has had one or more Goldwater scholars; USC has produced 36 since 1990.

The University’s Goldwater Committee was chaired by Dr. Douglas Meade of the math department and included Dr. Sarah Baxter of mechanical engineering, Dr. Scott Goode of chemistry and Dr. Briana Timmerman of the South Carolina Honors College), and Dr. Alicia Wilson (Geological Sciences) worked closely with all the University nominees in preparing their applications. The Office of Fellowships and Scholar Programs ( further assisted the Goldwater applicants.

By Office of Media Relations

Story Continues:  1  |  2PrintEmail
Posted: 04/05/10 @ 12:00 AM | Updated: 04/16/10 @ 12:36 PM | Permalink

Goldwater Scholarship

  • What: Competitive award given to nation's top undergraduates pursuing careers in math, science and engineering
  • Who: Sarah Pulliam of Charlotte wins scholarship; Stephen Timko of Vicksburg, Mich., earns honorable mention

Related Links



Media Relations

USC Times