University of South Carolina

Continued: Adams

Some of Adams’ many other awards include the National Award of the American Chemical Society for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry (2010), the National Award of the American Chemical Society for Inorganic Chemistry (1999), the Henry J. Albert Award of the International Precious Metals Institute (2005), the South Carolina Governor’s Award for Excellence in Science (2003), the Southern Chemist Award of the Memphis Section of the American Chemical Society (2001), and a U.S. Senior Scientist Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in Germany (2000).

He has also been a visiting professor of the Institut Universitaire de France (2000) and the National Science Council of Taiwan (1994). Adams was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2003.

“SURA is pleased to honor Prof. Adams for such notable accomplishments, which highlight his strong academic credentials and the quality research in which he’s engaged,” said Jerry P. Draayer, President and CEO of SURA.

The SURA Distinguished Scientist Award was established in 2006 to commemorate the organization’s 25th anniversary. SURA’s development and relations committees manage the solicitation, screening and selection of the recipient for this award from a SURA member institution. Dr. John Noftsinger, vice provost for research and public service at James Madison University, is the chair of the selection committee for SURA. Each of SURA’s 62 member institutions was eligible to make one nomination for the Distinguished Scientist Award.

By Office of Media Relations

Story Continues:  1  |  2PrintEmail
Posted: 02/18/11 @ 5:15 PM | Updated: 02/23/11 @ 3:54 PM | Permalink

Related Links



Media Relations

USC Times