University of South Carolina

Arts & Sciences faculty garner top fellowships

Three faculty members from the University of South Carolina’s College of Arts and Sciences have been awarded some of academia’s top fellowships.

History professor Dr. Marjorie J. Spruill has been awarded a fellowship from the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Dr. Ed Carr, an associate professor in geography, has been awarded a Science and Technology Policy Fellowship from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Dr. Laura Dassow Walls, an English professor who holds The John H. Bennett Jr. Chair of Southern Letters, was named a 2010 fellow by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation in April.

“These awards represent powerful external validation of the quality of the scholarship of the faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences,” said Dr. Mary Anne Fitzpatrick, dean of the college. “The opportunities afforded by these fellowships will allow these faculty not only to conduct important research but also to bring new approaches into the classroom on their return.”

Spruill will head to Washington, D.C., in September, where she will be in residence at the Wilson center through May to work on her book, “Women’s Rights, Family Values, and the Polarization of American Politics.” There, she will interact with scholars and public officials in Congress and the executive branch of government.

“This book will speak to a broad audience and contribute to the national conversation about this prolonged period of partisanship and polarization that has continued now for 30 years and is confounding efforts of our leaders to address the most important problems facing our society,” Spruill said.

A leading expert on women’s history, Spruill is focusing her research on the transformation of American political culture during the 1970s that led to the highly partisan, deeply polarized political culture of today. This is the third fellowship Spruill has been awarded since joining the university’s faculty in 2004. She was a fellow with the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University from 2006 – 07 and will begin a fellowship with the National Endowment for the Humanities fellow beginning June 2011.

Story Continues:  1  |  2PrintEmail

Arts and Sciences awards

  • Marjorie J. Spruill: Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars fellowship
  • Ed Carr: AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellowship
  • Laura Dassow Walls: John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowship

Related Links



Media Relations

USC Times