ARNOLD SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS 2024 FACULTY RESEARCH AWARD

ABOUT THE AWARD

The Arnold School of Public Health Faculty Research Award is given to a faculty member who has achieved an outstanding scholarly research record. The Faculty Research Award, which includes a \$1,000 honorarium and a commemorative plaque, is presented annually at the Arnold School of Public Health Hooding Ceremony in May.

Eligibility

All full-time faculty members who have been at the Arnold School of Public Health for at least three years are eligible for the award. However, previous award winners must wait a minimum of five years before being considered again. Who Can Nominate? Nominations for the awards may be made by any Arnold School of Public Health faculty member. Note: Self-nomination and selfsolicitation of nomination are prohibited. Selection committee members may not nominate faculty members for this award.

PROCEDURE TO NOMINATE A FACULTY MEMBER

To nominate a faculty member, complete a nomination form and submit to the Arnold School of Public Health Office of Research. Each nominee may be asked to provide appropriate documentation, so a justification of the nominee's contribution is optional. The nomination form is on the back of this flyer or can be downloaded from www.asph.sc.edu/email/pdf/2024ResearchAward.pdf. The completed nomination form should be submitted to AWARDSPH@mailbox.sc.edu.

SELECTION PROCESS

- The following criteria will be used in selecting the recipient of the Faculty Research Award:
- Research performed while the nominee was at the University of South Carolina.
- Impact that the research has had on the discipline.
- Creativity in research rather than solely quantity of production.

Note: The selection committee reserves the right not to make an award.

SELECTION COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Award selection will be made by a committee comprised of previous Faculty Research Award recipients from within the Arnold School of Public Health.

MONDAY

FEB **26**

Nomination Deadline

If you have questions concerning eligibility, procedures, or criteria for selection, please contact Rachel Cooper at 803-576-7795 or AWARDSPH@mailbox.sc.edu.



PAST RECIPIENTS

1990	Murray Vincent	2002	Beth Mayer-Davis	2014	James Thrasher
1991	David Hawkins	2003	Donna L. Richter	2015	Michael Beets
1992	Carol Garrison	2004	James R. Hebert	2016	Julius Fridriksson
1993	Carol Macera	2005	Andrew B. Lawson	2017	Daniel Fogerty
1994	Mark Davis	2006	Robert McKeown	2018	Brie Turner-McGrievy
1995	Russell Pate	2007	Sara Wilcox	2019	Ed Frongillo
1996	Leiyu Shi	2008	Chris Rorden	2020	Suzanne McDermott
1997	Tom Chandler	2009	Jim Carson	2021	Jiajia Zhang
1998	Harriet Williams	2010	Julius Fridriksson	2022	Mark Sarzynski
1999	Alan Decho	2011	Angela D. Liese	2023	Jihong Liu
2000	Barbara Ainsworth	2012	Jan Probst		
2001	C. Marjorie Aelion	2013	James Hardin		

You will need Adobe Reader to fill out this form.

Get Adobe Reader for free at get.adobe.com/reader/ (Uncheck optional offers before you click the download button)

NOMINATION FORM

FACULTY RESEARCH AWARD

DEADLINE: FEBRUARY 26, 2024

Faculty nominee:	Department:
(Optional) Give a brief summary of the nominee's contributions an	d qualifications. Attach additional pages if necessary.
Nominated by:De	partment:
Phone (work):	e-mail: