Skip to Content

School of Medicine Greenville


Student Presentation Awards

SC ASM strives to recognize the contributions of student microbiologists in our state.  Awards recognizing excellent undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate presentations are presented at both fall and spring meetings of SC ASM.

  • Undergraduate
    • 1st: Dallas Nivens and Laela Walker, Winthrop University
    • 2nd: Kasey Kiser, Clemson University
  • Graduate
    • 1st : Gray Evans, Medical University of South Carolina
    • 2nd : Katelin Hanna, Clemson University
    • 3rd: Tessa Cox, University of South Carolina
  • Undergraduate
    • 1st : Misbaah Muqri, Olivia Suarez, Haley Meltzer
  • Graduate
    • 1st : Janiece Glover
    • 2nd : Taylor Ticer
  • Undergraduate
    • 1st : Dallas Nivens, Winthrop University
    • 2nd : Brianna Sacchetti, USC Upstate
  • Medical
    • 1st :Kathleen Hill, USC SOMG
    • 2nd : Eli Wheibe, USC SOMG


  • Graduate
    • 1st :  Mirza Isanovic, USC
    • 2nd : Nichole Giani, Clemson University
  • Undergraduate
    • 1st Jonathan Batchelder Bob Jones University
    • 2nd Jared Kohrt Furman University
  • Graduate
    • 1st Heather Walters Clemson University
    • 2nd Emily Long Winthrop University
  • High School
    • 1st Lucas Tomitas, University South Carolina Beaufort
  • Undergraduate
    • 1st Christian Cochrane Clemson University
    • 2nd Katherine Floyd Clemson University
    • 3rd Madison Martin Charleston Southern University
  • Graduate
    • 1st Brock Thornton Clemson University
    • 2nd Harrison Taylor Clemson University
    • 3rd Melanie Key Clemson University


Peggy Cotter Award

The Peggy Cotter Award aims to provide funding for ASM branches to recognize outstanding early career microbiologists within their respective branch and to provide them with funding to attend ASM Microbe.

  • Emily Rosowski (Clemson)
  • Heather Fullerton
  • Steven Fiester, University South Carolina Greenville
  • Anna Seekatz, Clemson University
  • Jennifer Grier, University South Carolina Greenville

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.