Skip to Content

All University of South Carolina system institutions will be closed through the end of the spring semester. Columbia campus virtual instruction will continue through the end of the Summer II semester (Aug 1). Details can be found on the coronavirus landing page.

School of Medicine Greenville


Graduate Medical Education Committee

The Greenville Health System Graduate Medical Education Committee has oversight authority and responsibility for all aspects of medical residency education.

Voting membership includes the DIO, Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education (Chair), Program Directors (Associate Program Directors are non-voting members except by Program Director proxy), the three House Senate Officers elected by the House Staff (President, Vice President, Secretary), Vice President of Quality and Patient Safety or designee, the Executive Director of Business Operations and Finance, and others as deemed by GMEC appointment.

GMEC ensures that each graduate medical education program provides effective educational experiences for residents and fellows that lead to measurable achievement of educational outcomes using the ACGME competencies. The GMEC oversees all GME activity, including communication between programs and ACGME residency review committees. GMEC also reviews reports from site visits and subsequent progress reports in order to ensure that problems are addressed and additional resources made available to respond to deficiencies.

This committee meets the fourth Thursday of every month.

GMEC Roster



Committee Member Department
Edward W. Bray, III, Chair, M.D. Associate Dean, GME/CME
Brenda Thames, Ed.D., Ex Officio VP Academic Affairs
Ann Griffith, Ex Officio Manager, GME
Christopher G. Carsten lll, M.D. Vascular Surgery
Dane E. Smith, M.D. General Surgery
Sharon Keiser, M.D. OB/GYN
Desmond P. Kelly, M.D. Developmental Behavioral Pediatrics
J. Michael Fuller, M.D. Internal Medicine
Julius R. Earle Jr., M.D. Psychiatry & Behavioral Science
Kerry K. Sease, M.D. Pediatrics
Laura Copeland Johnson, M.D. Med-Pediatrics
Shannon Burgess, M.D. Med-Pediatrics
Richard Gurich, M.D. Orthopaedic
Russell C. Kolarik, M.D. Med-Pediatrics
Scott Porter, M.D. Orthopedic Surgery
Alfredo Carbonell, II, D.O. Minimally Invasive Surgery
Camiron Pfennig, M.D., non-voting Emergency Medicine
Robert Mobley, Jr., M.D. Vice Chair Quality and Patient Safety
Richard Hawkins, M.D. Ortho Sports Medicine
Brian Burnikel, M.D. Total Joint Arthroplasty
Edward W. Bray, III, Chair, M.D. Associate Dean, GME/CME
Brenda Thames, Ed.D., Ex Officio VP Academic Affairs

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.