Skip to Content

All University of South Carolina system institutions will be closed through the end of the spring semester. Columbia campus virtual instruction will continue through the end of the Summer II semester (Aug 1). Details can be found on the coronavirus landing page.

School of Medicine Greenville


Faculty Representation Committee

The Faculty Representation Committee oversees the standing committees of the medical school to ensure the proper channeling of the faculty voice in a mixed governance model, and is responsible for developing and administering the procedures for nomination and election of faculty members to School of Medicine committees designated for elected members by the faculty, for changes to committee descriptions or composition, and addition of new standing committees. This committee is supported by the Office of Faculty Affairs [Note: Student members are elected by the Student Body].

This committee consists of a Chair appointed by the Dean, the Academic Vice Chairs of the clinical departments, the Biomedical Sciences departmental chair (voting), and the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs (non-voting). The committee normally meets quarterly immediately following Academic Council meetings, and as required to meet the needs of the standing committees of the medical school.



Committee Member Department
Phyllis MacGilvray, M.D. Family Medicine
Alfredo Carbonell, D.O. Surgery
Alain Litwin, M.D. Medicine
Eunice Peterson, M.D. Psychiatry
Richard Hodinka, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences
Tom Pace, M.D. Orthopedic Surgery
Desmond Kelly, M.D. Pediatrics
Jennifer Knight, M.D. Pathology
Mike Devane, M.D. Radiology
Ronald Pirrallo, M.D. Emergency Medicine
Will Hand, M.D. Anesthesiology
Kacey Eichelberger, M.D. OB/GYN

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.