Skip to Content

All University of South Carolina system institutions will be closed through the end of the spring semester. Columbia campus virtual instruction will continue through the end of the Summer II semester (Aug 1). Details can be found on the coronavirus landing page.

School of Medicine Greenville


Curriculum Committee

Mission of Committee:
The Curriculum Committee of the USC School of Medicine Greenville is a deliberative body charged by the Dean and given institutional authority to review, advise and make policy recommendations to the Dean for the successful design, implementation, and assessment of the curriculum for the undergraduate medical education program leading to the MD degree. Additionally, the committee ensures that students develop the leadership, clinical and interpersonal skills essential to delivering the next generation of patient-centered health care with confidence and compassion. The committee is guided by its commitment to compassionate patient care, innovative teaching and continuous improvement for the benefit of our students, faculty, administration and community we serve.

The committee is composed of 15 voting members: Chair of Program Evaluation and Assessment Committee (PEAS); four at large Biomedical Science faculty; two at large Clinical faculty; two Clerkship Directors elected by the M3/M4 subcommittee; M1 Academic Year director/Chair of M1 subcommittee; M2 Academic Year director/Chair of M2 subcommittee; Director of IPM; Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs/Chair of M3 M4 subcommittee; and two elected student representatives. Non-voting membership includes the Senior Associate Dean for Student Affairs, Chair of Biomedical Sciences, Associate Dean for Student Affairs, Faculty Director of Assessment, and two elected student representatives.

Time Commitment per Year for Each Candidate?
Approximately 12 hours of meeting time plus average of 4 hours of prep time over the year and potential for 6+ hours of task force work.

Frequency of Meetings (i.e. monthly, weekly, June-December)?

Days/Times of Meetings (i.e. lunch, early mornings, during the work day)?
First Tuesday of the month 12 - 1:30 (usually only lasts 12 -1)

Kirk Baston, M.D..

Co-Chair or Vice Chair:
John Emerson, M.D.

Administrative Support Staff:
Kimberly Scoles



Committee Member Department Term Ends
Kirk Baston, M.D. M2 Academic Year Director  
Renee Chosed, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2021
 John Emerson, M.D. Family Medicine; Clerkship Director  
Ben Griffeth, M.D. Neuropsychiatry & Behavioral Science 2020
Brooks McPhail, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2019
Cami Pfennig, M.D. Emergency Medicine 2021
Jennifer Grier, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2019
Tyler Fleming  Student, Class of 2020 2020
Leanne Brechtel  Student, Class of 2020 2020
John Swetenburg Student, Class of 2021 2021
Maggie Oliver Student, Class of 2022 2022
Tatsuhiro Kato Student, Class of 2023 2023
Anna Blenda, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences; Chair of Program Evaluation and Assessment Committee (PEAS) ex officio, voting
April Buchanan, M.D. Assistant Dean for Clinical Clerkship Education ex officio, voting
Nanette Dendy, M.D. Medicine; Clerkship Director ex officio, voting
Matt Tucker, Ph.D. M1 Academic Year Director ex officio, voting
Thomas Pace, M.D. IPM Director ex officio, voting
William Wright, Ph.D. Faculty Director of Assessment ex officio, voting
Paul Catalana, M.D. Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Admissions ex-officio, non-voting
Richard Hodinka, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences ex-officio, non-voting

*M2 and M4 students are the voting members of the committee.




Meeting Minutes


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.