Skip to Content

My School of Medicine

Service Awards

Recognizing our students, faculty, staff for their hard work and support is important to the Dean and the entire leadership team. Each spring service awards are presented to awardees nominated by their peers and selected by the leadership team. 

Dean’s Distinguished Service Awards

The Dean’s Distinguished Service Awards are annual honors established by the Office of the Dean to recognize individuals who demonstrate excellence in service, leadership, advocacy and professional accomplishment.

Awardees are chosen by a selection committee overseen by the Dean’s leadership team. Nominations for 2019 awards are due on July 1, 2019.

Please use the awards nomination form to submit nominations.

View the 2018 Dean's Distinguished Service Award recipients.

Award Descriptions

Sustained School of Medicine Service Award

Awarded to a faculty or staff member with at least ten years of continuous service to the School of Medicine, who consistently demonstrates ongoing commitment to improving the School of Medicine, exceeds his or her job responsibilities and helps create a positive work environment. 

Dean’s Leadership Award

Awarded to a faculty or staff member whose strong leadership has contributed to the School of Medicine’s success in advancing one or more of its missions.  The award may recognize outstanding leadership in a specific role or related to a specific project, in which the individual’s contributions were essential to achieving a significant accomplishment for the School of Medicine. 

Friend of the School of Medicine Award

Awarded to a member(s) of the community whose service to the School of Medicine has contributed to the advancement of the School of Medicine’s missions. The award may be given to an individual(s) or to an organization.  The award recipient(s) should not be a SOM employee, though former employees of the SOM could be eligible, if the service being recognized occurred subsequent to their SOM employment.

Diversity and Inclusion Leadership Award

Awarded to a member of the faculty, staff, or student body of the School of Medicine who has implemented a project or program which has enhanced the climate of diversity and inclusion in the School of Medicine or advanced diversity and inclusion in health care disparities. This may include initiatives to promote a diverse faculty, staff and student body, to promote an inclusive campus climate, or to address health disparities through teaching, research, clinical interventions or community outreach.

Community Service Award

Awarded to a member(s) of the faculty, staff, or student body whose contributions to the local, regional, or global community has demonstrated a commitment to improving the welfare of all people and has upheld the highest traditions of servant leadership. 

Career Achievement Award

Awarded to a member of the faculty or alumni of the School of Medicine whose career has spanned at least 25 years.  This individual must have made significant contributions to their profession in at least two of the following three areas:  1) clinical practice, academic medicine, or research; 2) medical or graduate education; 3) leadership in their profession at the local, state, or regional/national level.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.