Skip to Content

School of Law

Class Notes


Ashley Dixon '15,  Tommy Geddings '87, Tara Nauful '92, and Rebecca Wray '92 were all recognized by the American Bar Association Standing Committee on Pro Bono and Public Service as ABA Free Legal Answers 2021 Pro Bono Leaders.

Henry D. McMaster Jr. '16 joined Collins & Lacy as an associate in the retail and hospitality practice group. 

Amanda Mellard '06 joined Robinson Gray as a member in the area of workers' compensation defense.

Adrian Peguese '15 joined Turner Padget as an associate in the litigation practice group, supporting the personal injury defense team. 

G. Murrell Smith, Jr. '93 was elected as the South Carolina Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Julius W. "Jay" McKay II '77 became  a certified circuit court mediator with the South Carolina Board of Arbitrator and Mediator Certification.

Daniel R. Settana Jr. '92 became  a certified circuit court mediator with the South Carolina Board of Arbitrator and Mediator Certification.

Stuart Andrews '78 joined Burnette Shutt & McDaniel.

Stephanie Besselievre '21 joined Moseley Marcinak Law Group LLC.

Joseph Bias '10 was one of 14 individuals recognized by Richland School District Two as a 2022 Black History Month Honoree. 

Bryan B. Blair '10 will assume the role of vice president for intercollegiate athletics and director of athletics at the University of Toledo on May 1. 

Ashley Dixon '15 was named an ABA Free Legal Answers Pro Bono Leader for 2021 by the American Bar Association.

Eden Hendrick '05 was named executive director of the South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice.

Veleka Peeples-Dyer '96 was named as one of Savoy magazine's 2022 Most Influential Black Lawyers. 

Ron Scott '18 was selected to participate in the Spring 2022 Midlands Diversity Leaders Initiative at Furman University's Riley Institute.

Sara Shariff '17 joined Williams Mullen's Richmond office. 

Thornwell F. "Biff" Sowell III '76 received the South Carolina Bar Trial and Appellate Advocacy Section Award.

La'Jessica Stringfellow '15 was recognized as a "Star of the Quarter" by the South Carolina Bar Young Lawyers Division.

John G. Tamasitis '14  joined Williams Mullen's Columbia office and will represent clients in state and federal courts in commercial litigation matters.

Shannon F. Bobertz  '02 was elected to the Executive Committee for the Richland County Bar Association.

Robert Bolchoz '89 was nominated by Governor Henry McMaster to become the next chair of the board of the Department of Health and Environmental Control.

Walter H. Cartin '09 was named president of the Richland County Bar Association for 2022.

John Kelchner '97 joined Turner Padget's Columbia office. 

Becky Lafitte '83 was inducted into the National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals (NADN).

Perry MacLennan '14 was elected as a Shareholder at Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd's Florence office.

Edward W. Mullins Jr. '59 received the Order of the Palmetto, South Carolina's highest civilian honor.

Kathleen Muthig '11 was elected as a Shareholder at Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd's Columbia office.

Katherine R. Myers '13 joined Burnette Shutt & McDaniel. 

Elizabeth "Beth" Palmer '05 joined the Charleston, South Carolina ,office of Saxton & Stump, practicing under Spitz & Neville.

Adair Patterson '20 was selected to serve on the board of advisors for YMCA Camp Greenville.

Mike Pitts '96, former Greenville city attorney, joined Parker Poe's Greenville office as counsel.

Anthony M. Quattrone '15 was elected to partner at Adams and Reese's Columbia office.

S. Harrison Saunders VI '02 was named president-elect of the Richland County Bar Association for 2022.

B. Scott Todd '15 has been named a partner for the firm now known as Sumner & Todd, Attorneys at Law, LLC.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.