Skip to Content

College of Engineering and Computing

Professor Gadala-Maria's retirement party

News and Events

After 35 plus years of service to the Department of Chemical Engineering and the University of South Carolina, Distinguished Professor Emeritus Francis Gadala-Maria ( sixth from left ) will be retiring.


Dr. Ehsan Jabbarzadeh

New MS in Entrepreneurial Engineering Program Featured on SC NPR Business Review

The University of South Carolina’s unique one-year graduate program is a collaboration between the College of Engineering and Computing and the Darla Moore School of Business. Designed for students and professionals in STEM fields, the program focuses on technology innovation, prototyping, customer discovery, business model development, commercialization, and legal protection. The program encompasses an Integrated curriculum, new venture projects and entrepreneurship module, and is open to candidates with B.S. degree in science, engineering, and math.

John Monnier

[ Update ] Dr. Monnier elected to National Academy of Engineering

Here is the video of Dr. Monnier's induction to the National Academy of Engineering, a prestigius group of researches selected for their significant and lasting contributions to the field.

Greg Harris

Greg Harris to join the University of Cincinnati

Dr. Greg Harris, a 2014 PhD graduatge from our Department of Chemical Engineering, has accepted an Assistant Professor position at the University of Cincinnati, Department of Chemical Engineering starting August, 2017.  Greg was advised by Dr. Ehsan Jabbarzadeh.  His dissertation was titled, "Parsing the Effects of Physical Microenvironmental Cues on Stem Cell Adhesion and Lineage Specification."  After receiving his PhD, Greg was a post-doctoral researcher at Princeton University for three years.  The Chemical Engineering Department would like to congratulate Greg for this wonderful accomplishment.

Bihter Padak

Dr. Padak recognized as AIChE 35 under 35

Professor Bihter Padak is being recognized in the Energy catagory as on of the 35 outstanding AIChE members under the age of 35 who have made significant contributions to the field of Chemical Engineering and AIChE.

Merina Jahad

Merina Jahan has been awarded the GHC Scholarship

Merina Jahan has been awarded the GHC Scholarship to attned the Grace Hopper Clelebration (GHC) for Women in Computing confernce in Orlando, Florida in October 2017.  This is the world's largest gathering of women technologists and is produced by the Anita Borg Institute in partnership with the ACM.  The scholarship is very competitive and the award covers all expenses for attending the conference.

John Monnier

Dr. Monnier elected to National Academy of Engineering

Department of Chemical Engineering research professor John Monnier has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, a prestigius group of researches selected for their significant and lasting contributions to the field.

Tavakoli Mehrebadi

Tavakoli Mehrebadi receives IE & EE Student Achievement Award

 The Industrial Electrochemistry and Electrochemical Engineering Division of thee Electrochemical Society announce that Tavakoli Mehrebadi will be awarded the IE & EE Student Achievment Award in the New Orleans general session.

Taylor Garrick

Taylor Garrick receives 2017 Breakthrough Graduate Scholar Award

Ph.D. Candidate and member of Dr. Weidner's research group

John Weidner

Dr. Weidner receives 2017 Breakthrough Award

Professor Weidner, Chair, also directs the Center for Hydrogen and Fuel Cells, leveraging both of these roles to expand research collaborations and opportunities for students 

Electrochemical Society

Electrochemical Society selects USC as Outstanding Student Chapter

ECS would like to formally commend the University of South Carolina for being presented the Outstanding Student Chapter Award this year at PRiME 2016

Harry Ploehn

Dr. Ploehn elected as Fellow of AIChE

Professor Ploehn will be elected to the 2016 AIChE Class of Fellows at the annual meeting at San Francisco in November.

John Weidner

Dr. Weidner received Education Leadership Award

Professor and Chair John Weidner was honbored with an Education Leadership Award at the 2016 Energy Inc. Summit in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Chris Williams

Dr. Williams appointed Associate Editor for the Journal of Catalysis Science and Technology

Catalysis Science & Technology is a leading international journal for the publication of the highest impact articles reporting cutting-edge developments across the catalysis science community.  

Jason Hattrick-Simpers

Dr. Hattrick-Simpers appointed Associate Editor for the Journal of American Chemical Society Combinatorial Science

Professor Hattrick-Simpers will focus primarily on the area of combinatorial materials science, which encompasses a wide variety of molecules, materials, techniques, and applications.

Ehsan Jabbarzadeh

Dr. Ehsan Jabbarzadeh receives grant from the National Science Foundation

Professor Ehsan Jabbarzadeh has received a grant from the Nation Science Foundation (NSF) for his project entitled "EAGER:  Modulation of the Inflammatory Response for Accelerated Tissue Vascularization and Bone Regeneration."  This two-year grant allows Dr. Jabbarzadeh and his team to establish the proof of principle for the use of reveratrol to promote wound-healing macrophage phenotype and accerlerate blood vessel growth in biomaterials.  Rapid perfusion through an implanted biomaterial is a critical issue in regeneration.  The novel approach developed in this study has broad applicability to engineering a wide variety of tissues and organs. 

Michelle Wilson

Michelle Wilson is finalist for Outstanding Woman of the Year

Michelle Wilson is one of five undergraduate student leaders that have been named finalists for the 2016 Outstanding Woman of the Year Award, given annually by  Student Life.

Miao Yu

Discovery Day 2016 Chemical Engineering winners

Afternoon Poster Presentations, Biomedical Sciences:  Heather Struckman wins First Place and Ryan Geiser wins Second Place. Afternoon Oral Presentations, STEM A: Katherine Driscoll wins First Place and Nicholas Nalbone wins Honorable Mention. Mid-day Oral Presentations, STEM A: Patrick Barboun wins First Place. Morning Poster Presentations, USC Connect Showcase C: John Stewart ties for First Place. Morning Poster Presentations, Engineering, Computing, and Math: Patrick Barboun wins First Place.

Miao Yu

Dr. Miao Yu interviewed for Graphene water desalination

The Graphene Council interviews Dr. Miao Yu, Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of South Carolina who is responsible for developing a graphene based water filter technology.

Branko Popov

Dr. Branko N. Popov on national list of most highly cited researchers

Professor Branko Popov was listed by Thomson Reuterson as one of the most highly cited researchers In the nation from 2002 and 2015. Only two researchers from the University of South Carolina across all disciplines made this list. can be searched for other researchers and institutions.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.