Skip to Content

College of Education

South Carolina Education Hall of Honor

Conceived in 1985 by the Museum of Education’s first curator, William W. Savage, the Hall of Honor in Education recognizes those individuals who have made truly significant contributions to the practice of education in South Carolina and the nation.

The Hall of Honor includes the following South Carolina educators:

Septima Poinsette Clark (1898—1987), schoolteacher, civil rights leader, founder of the Citizenship Schools, and recipient of the National Book Award;

J. A. DeLaine (1898—1974), schoolteacher, civil rights leader, community leader who led the efforts to file the Briggs v. Elliott case;

Wil Lou Gray (1883—1984), pioneer in adult education and founder of the Opportunity School program;

David Bancroft Johnson (1856—1928), founder and president of Winthrop University, the state’s historic teacher training institution;

Thomas Ezekiel Miller (1849—1938), founder and president of South Carolina’s first state supported college for blacks, South Carolina State University.