Skip to Content

School of Visual Art and Design

Diversity and Inclusion

Invitation to Diversity and Inclusion Forum

Sent to Students on September 10, 2020

We invite you to join a Diversity and Inclusion Forum for Students on September 21 at 4 PM.   

Register online to attend remotely or in person. Registrants will receive information on how to participate by email. UofSC College of Arts and Sciences Associate Dean, Dr. Tracey Weldon-Stewart, will also attend and welcome all participants.  

SVAD faculty want to know more about your experiences as a student in the School of Visual Art and Design as we plan for actions that will increase diversity, equity, and inclusion across the school. Your voice matters.  

Our action plan— what we are calling our Pledge to Students on Antiracism, Equity and Inclusion— begins with the elevation of your voices; we want to listen and learn from you.   

This Pledge is a living document, the starting point of a larger conversation. It will keep us accountable as we strive for greater equity and inclusion. We know you are marching and protesting and doing hard work in your communities for social change. We pledge to do our part to address and rectify any exclusionary practices or systems that cause harm in SVAD’s community.  

UofSC Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion, Julian Williams, has invited us to create action plans that address the unique needs of our academic community.  What are your concerns and how can we better support you? What actions do you want to see from faculty and staff? 

This is serious work to which SVAD faculty and staff are called through our collective conscience as a community of artists, educators and scholars resolved to address racism and exclusionary practices of all kinds within our community and professional fields. We are ready to get to work! 

We look forward to hearing from you in a collective conversation on September 21.   

Laura Kissel 
Director, School of Visual Art and Design 

Minuette Floyd 
Professor of Art Education 

Andrew Graciano 
Associate Director and Professor of Art History 

Lydia Brandt 
Associate Professor of Art History 

Evan Meaney 
Associate Professor of Media Arts 

Lauren Steimer 
Associate Professor of Media Arts 

Meena Khalili 
Assistant Professor of Studio Art 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.