Skip to Content

College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty and Staff

Susan E. Anderson

Title: Professor, Dance
Department: Theater and Dance
College of Arts and Sciences
Phone: 803-777-0704
Office: Band/Dance Facility, Room 002
Resources: Curriculum Vitae [pdf]
Department of Theater and Dance
Susan Anderson


MFA, University of California at Irvine.  2011 SC Professor of the Year.  2009 Michael J. Mungo Distinguished Professor.  2009 Governor's Professor of the Year.

Professor Anderson is the founding director of the USC Dance Company, USC Dance Conservatory, and South Carolina Summer Dance Conservatory, which hosts international students and world-renowned faculty and choreographers.

Under her directorship, the dance program implemented a BA major in Dance Performance and Choreography in 2004, with concentrations in Ballet or Contemporary Dance.  Soon after, the program added an emphasis in Dance Education, a K-12 Teacher Certification program, in partnership with the College of Education.  Since this time, the dance program has become nationally recognized, earning distinction from Dance Magazine as one of the top three collegiate programs to consider for classical ballet study.  The program now has more than 65 course offerings and approximately 3,000 students enroll each year taking dance courses.

Some of Susan Anderson’s professional artistic works include the creation of over 200 ballets such as Scheherazade, Ondine, Taming of the Shrew, Plant Dance with artist Blue Sky, The Firebird, Phantom of the Night, Crown Jewels, Sylvia, Carnival of the Animals, Pleasures of Paris, and The Young Man and Death. She has choreographed and taught master classes for Gus Giordano Dance Company in Chicago, the University of California, University of Buffalo, University of Georgia, Several Dancers Core in Atlanta, Murray State, Knoxville Dance Theatre, Loyola University, Inco Ballet in Colombia, South America and Stadtische Opera in Gera, Germany.

In 2009, she was named the Michael J. Mungo Distinguished Professor of the Year and Governor’s Professor of the Year.

In 2011, she was named SC Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation.