Skip to Content

Department of Anthropology

Graduate Awards

Click on the type of award below for more information.


The department wishes to encourage student travel to domestic and international conferences. All students presenting a sole- or first-authored conference papers or posters are eligible for a departmental travel award, with priority given to Ph.D. students. The amount of this award varies between $150 and $250 per year, depending on departmental resources.

The department offers funding to master’s and doctoral students to pursue summer research and fieldwork toward the masters’ degree or to complete pilot research in furtherance of efforts to secure external sources of funding for doctoral research. Applications for departmental research and fieldwork funding are due April 1.

The Graduate School offers travel funding to Ph.D. students who are presenting sole- or first-authored papers or posters at academic conferences of national or international standing. Ph.D. students are only eligible to receive these funds twice during their time at USC, and only once in any single fiscal year (July 1 – June 30). The graduate school offers up to $500 for domestic travel and $800 for international travel in four application cycles. 

The Graduate School administers several Trustee Fellowships, for which master’s or doctoral students are eligible. The Rhude M. Patterson award ($5,000) is given each year to two outstanding female graduate students in the humanities and social sciences. All anthropology graduate students are eligible for several other Trustee Fellowships, including the C.C. Royal ($2,500), George M. Reeves ($750), and Dera D. Parkinson ($750) fellowships. Note: George M. Reeves, supported the South Carolina Archaeological Research Trust.

 In addition to the Trustee Fellowships, the Graduate School administers the Dean's Award for Excellence in Leadership, the Outstanding Thesis and Dissertation Awards, and the Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award. Each of these awards comes with a monetary prize.
 The College of Arts and Sciences administers the Russell J. and Dorothy S. Bilinski Fellowship, which provides a substantial sum for living and research expenses to graduate students in the humanities and social sciences. This highly competitive Fellowship is awarded to approximately 10 students each year across the College.
This award, administered by the Office of the Vice President for Research, provides up to $5,000 to support doctoral research. SPARC funds can be used to pay for salary, supplies, travel and other costs essential to completing and promoting student projects. The SPARC program requires all applicants to complete and submit a competitive grant proposal.
 The Vice President of Research also sponsors the Breakthrough Graduate Scholar Award, which honors Ph.D. students who have made considerable contributions to their field of study. This honor does not carry a monetary award, but it is very prestigious and is awarded to only a dozen students at the university.

The Walker Institute for International and Area Studies offers the Ceny Walker Graduate Travel Grant of up to $2,500 for international research or study.  The Walker Institute also offers several Graduate Fellowships, up to $3000, for students pursuing relevant international research. Interested students should consult the Walker Institute for further details.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.