UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA STAFF SENATE MEETING

Tuesday, April 12, 2022 3:00 – 4:00 p.m. Closs Hipp Building, Lumpkin Auditorium

PRESIDING: Rushondra James, PhD, President

Call to Order – Rushondra James, PhD, Vice President

Vice President Rushondra James called the meeting to order at 3:03p.m. and welcomed staff senators and visitors to the full staff senate meeting.

Roll Call/Attendance Report - Andrenette Hudley, Secretary

Secretary Andrenette Hudley checked the roll through the QR Code. According to the attendance report, 28 senators were in attendance, 15 senators were absent, 8 senators gave proxies and 2 senator virtual (maternity leave and SOM Greenville).

Establish Quorum - Tyson Lusk, Parliamentarian

Based on the attendance report, Secretary Andrenette Hudley declared a quorum established and Parliamentarian Tyson Lusk declared business can be conducted.

Approval of Minutes – Tyson Lusk, Parliamentarian

There were no changes to the March 8, 2022, staff senate meeting minutes. Senator Megan Colascione made a motion to accept the March 8, 2022, general body staff senate minutes as written. Senator Anthony Morgan second the motion and all senators were in favor. The motion was adopted, and the minutes were accepted as written.

Reports of Officers - Tyson Lusk, Parliamentarian

By-laws Amendments

The full body staff senate voted last month to change the Staff Policy and Welfare Committee to the Staff Policy and Well-Being Committee.

Reports of Committees (As Needed):

Membership – Vanessa Berry/Caroline Maulana Senator Mike Dial shared information on the election of vacant staff senate seats. Please click on the link for Senator Mike Dial membership report given at the full body staff senate meeting.

Communications – Lauren Angelo-Duck/Bailey Watts No Report

Staff Policy and Well-Being – Megan Colascione/Ja-Nee Epps No Report

Professional Development – Melissa Kupfer/Leroy Sims No Report

Community Project – Joe Fortune/Katherine Hilson

The Top Five Drive held March 7-9, 2022, collected and distributed a total of 400 items.

By-Laws- Bo Hart/ Kim Rose No Report

Ad hoc Committee (Staff Representation) – Wright Culpepper

The Ad hoc Committee worked on the following:

- Surveyed 20 schools.
 - SEC
 - Flagship
 - R1
- Only 1 school has staff representation on the BOT
 - University of Kentucky
 - Regular staff member, not in leadership at executive level
 - 17/20 include staff in Presidential search
- 1 does not include staff
 - UNC Chapel Hill
 - Presidential search committee includes 7 faculty members
 - Staff were on a non-voting advisory committee
- 2 have unclear protocols
 - Clemson and Kentucky
 - Current president at each school has been in office for several years
 - After hiring Jim Clements in 2013, Clemson acknowledged that its policy was too static to be held over for future searches.
 - Their Board determined that a new search process will be developed and approved as needed.
 - Kentucky last hired a president in 2011
 - Can assume staff representation since staff have Board representation

The committee will continue their research and provide a written report to the executive committee in May.

Order of Business

Budget Update - Bridget Leslie, Treasurer

Treasurer Bridget Leslie provided a budget update to the staff senators. Please click on the <u>link</u> for Treasurer Bridget Leslie budget report given at the full body staff senate meeting.

Resolutions- *Tyson Lusk, Parliamentarian and Bridget Leslie, Treasurer*

We have two resolutions that were emailed out to the senators. Parliamentarian Tyson Lusk and Treasurer Bridget Leslie will take the lead in discussing the resolutions.

The resolutions are quite lengthy and just so the senators know how the resolutions are numbered - it is the year of staff senate and the number. So, this will be our third resolution and we are in year one. So next year which starts in July, staff senate will start with 2.1.

Backbone - Bridget Leslie, Treasurer

Backbone is a documentary that was spearheaded by Hannah White an honor student at the University of South Carolina. The documentary was centered around diversity, equity, and inclusion. The executive committee thought it would be fitting to have a resolution to support diversity, equity, and inclusion. Treasurer Bridget Leslie read the resolution to the senators. Please click on the <u>link</u> to read the resolution.

Treasurer Bridget Leslie ask the staff senate to review the resolution and make edits if needed and/ correct any grammatical errors. The resolution is sponsored by Treasurer Bridget Leslie and cosponsored by the executive committee. Treasurer Bridget Leslie will send a reminder out to the senators before the May meeting to review the resolution.

2020-2022 National Champion Women's Basketball Team and Dawn Staley - Tyson Lusk, Parliamentarian

This is a resolution to honor athletics department staff member Coach Dawn Staley and the 2020 22 national champion GameCock's women's basketball team. Time is a bit of the essence since it just happened so Parliamentarian Tyson Lusk ask per the bylaws that we move for immediate consideration of this resolution.

Parliamentarian Tyson Lusk read the resolution to the staff senate. Please click on the <u>link</u> to read the resolution. The senators recommended adding a statement to include thanking the staff of the colonial life arena and the entire community for everything they do to make the season special.

Senator Brad Holt made a motion to consider 2020-2022 National Champion Women's Basketball Team and Dawn Staley resolution immediately. Senator Mike Dial second the motion. All were in favor and the motion was carried.

Parliamentarian Tyson Lusk made a motion to accept the 2020-2022 National Champion Women's Basketball Team and Dawn Staley resolution. Senator Brad Holt second the motion. There was unanimous consent by the staff senators to add colonial life staff and the entire community and the resolution. All were in favor and the motion was carried.

The new 2022-2023 Executive Officers:

Vice president Rushondra James presented the new 2022-2023 Executive Officers to the full body staff senate. The new 2022-2023 Executive Officers are: Rushondra J. James, Ph.D., President Tyson Lusk, Vice-President Bridget Leslie, Treasurer Bo Hart, Parliamentarian Katherine Hilson, Secretary Shelley Dempsey, Ph.D.- Immediate Past- President

Announcements (Executive Committee or Senators) There were no announcements.

Adjourn

Vice President Rushondra James made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Secretary Andrenette Hudley second the motion. All was in favor and the motion was carried. Vice President Rushondra Janes adjourned the full body staff senate meeting at 3:35pm.

Next meeting: Tuesday, May 10, 2022- Close/Hipp Lumpkin Auditorium

Respectfully Submitted,

Andrenette F. Hudley

Secretary, Staff Senate