Skip to Content

Coronavirus: Get complete details about the university's response to COVID-19.

Office of the Vice President for Research

Council for Research Excellence

With diverse representation from the university’s faculty, staff and student bodies, the Council for Research Excellence provides strategic input to enhance the future of the University of South Carolina’s research enterprise.

The Council for Research Excellence (CRE) guides the University of South Carolina as it aspires to become a member of the Association of American Universities (AAU), a prestigious association of leading comprehensive research universities distinguished by the breadth and quality of their programs in education, research and innovation.

The first step for the CRE will be to develop a new strategic research plan that adheres to the AAU’s high standards of research excellence. This plan will build on the success of the Office of the Vice President for Research’s FY2013-FY2018 Strategic Plan (pdf).

The CRE welcomes input from the University of South Carolina’s faculty, staff and students.

 

Review the Draft Strategic Plan

On Friday, February 28, 2020, Vice President for Research Prakash Nagarkatti, presented a draft Research Strategic Plan to university leadership. Dr. Nagarkatti welcomes comments from all faculty, staff and students on the draft plan, entitled Create New Pathways to Research Excellence in Order to Become AAU Eligible (pdf).

 

Council for Research Excellence Members

Dr. Prakash Nagarkatti
Vice President for Research
prakash@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Jennifer Augustine
Faculty representative
College of Arts and Sciences
augustjm@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Michael Beets
Faculty representative
Arnold School of Public Health
beets@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Gloria Boutte
Faculty representative
College of Education
gsboutte@mailbox.sc.edu

Anna Cofie
Graduate student representative
Arnold School of Public Health
acofie@email.sc.edu

Dr. Kirstin Dow
Faculty representative
College of Arts and Sciences
dowk@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Pearl Fernandes
Faculty representative
UofSC Sumter
pefernan@uscsumter.edu

Dr. Michael Gavin
Faculty representative
College of Arts and Sciences
mgavin@mailbox.sc.edu 

Dr. Heather Heckman
Faculty representative
University Libraries 
heckmanh@mailbox.sc.edu

Beth Herron
Staff representative
Office of Research and Grant Development
bherron@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Lorne Hofseth
Faculty representative
College of Pharmacy
hofseth@cop.sc.edu

Dr. Kevin Huang
Faculty representative
College of Engineering and Computing
huang46@cec.sc.edu

Dr. Michy Kelly
Faculty representative
UofSC School of Medicine Columbia
michy.kelly@uscmed.sc.edu

Dr. Angela Liese
Faculty representative
Arnold School of Public Health
liese@sc.edu

Dr. Ana Lopez-DeFede
Faculty representative
College of Social Work
adefede@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Melissa Pilgrim
Faculty representative
UofSC Upstate
mpilgrim@uscupstate.edu

Dr. Jane Roberts
Faculty representative
College of Arts and Sciences
jerobert@mailbox.sc.edu

Issy Rushton (pdf)
Undergraduate student representative
UofSC Student Body President
irushton@email.sc.edu

Dr. Chuanbing Tang
Faculty representative
College of Arts and Sciences
Tang4@mailbox.sc.edu

Rembert White
Undergraduate student representative
College of Engineering and Computing
whiterd@email.sc.edu

 

 

Council of Associate Deans for Research

The Office of the Vice President for Research also regularly seeks input to promote research excellence from UofSC’s Council of Associate Deans for Research, a group of leaders who represent the research and scholarly interests of UofSC Columbia colleges and schools.

Dr. Teri Browne
College of Social Work
brownetm@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Kim Creek
College of Pharmacy
creekk@cop.sc.edu

Dr. Alan Decho
Arnold School of Public Health
awdecho@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Michael Matthews
College of Engineering and Computing
mamatthe@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. John McDermott
Darla Moore School of Business
dynamo@moore.sc.edu

Dr. Brooke McKeever
College of Information and Communications
brookew@sc.edu

Atty. Colin Miller
School of Law
Mille933@law.sc.edu

Dr. Bernardine Pinto
College of Nursing
pintob@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Francis Spinale
School of Medicine Columbia
cvctrc@uscmed.sc.edu

Dr. Samuel Todd
College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management
toddsy@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Collin Webster
College of Education
websterc@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Jacob Will
School of Music
jwill@mozart.sc.edu

Dr. Hans-Conrad zur Loye
College of Arts and Sciences
zurloye@mailbox.sc.edu

 

 

Support Staff

Staff members with the Office of the Vice President for Research support the efforts of the Research Excellence Advisory Committee.

Dr. Lauren Clark
Research Program Manager
clarkll@mailbox.sc.edu

Debbie Gipson
Research Administrative Manager
gipsond@mailbox.sc.edu

Elizabeth Renedo
Research Communications Manager
renedoe@mailbox.sc.edu

 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©