Skip to Content

University Foundations

Educational Foundation Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the University of South Carolina Educational Foundation.  The standing committees of the Board are the Executive Committee, Finance Committee, and the Investment Committee. The Educational Foundation exists to support the University of South Carolina in all of its educational, instructional, scientific, literary, research, service, charitable and outreach endeavors.


Officers of the Board

Boyd B. Jones, Chair
Rita B. Caughman, Vice Chair
James Bennett, Secretary/Treasurer
C. John Wentzell, Chair Emeritus

Members of the Board

List Thumbnail

Boyd B. Jones, Chair

Executive Vice President, NBSC; Columbia, SC

Rita Caughman

Rita B. Caughman, Vice Chair

Attorney/Shareholder, Sojourner, Caughman & Thomas, LLC; Columbia, SC

James Bennett

James Bennett,  Secretary/Treasurer

First Citizens Bank; Columbia, SC

List Thumbnail

C. John Wentzell, Chair Emeritus

Columbia, SC

Kenda M. Laughey

Kenda M. Laughey, Finance Committee Chair

CFO, Southminster; Charlotte, NC

List Thumbnail

J. Allen Wright, Foundations Investment Committee Chair

Senior Vice President of Investments, PRIME Consultant, UBS Financial Services Inc.; Atlanta, GA

Patty Hunter Addison

Patti H. Addison

 Columbia, SC

James Barrow

James (Jim) P. Barrow

Executive Director; Barrow, Hanley, Mewhinney & Strauss, LLC; Dallas, TX

Traci Young Cooper

Traci Young Cooper

Director, Office of Extended Day Programs, Richland County School District One; Blythewood, SC.

Thomas Deas

Thomas (Tom) C. Deas, Jr.

Vice President & Treasurer, FMC Corporation; Philadelphia, PA

Sharon Eden

Sharon I. Eden, MD

Physician, Orangeburg VA Clinic; Orangeburg, SC

R. Keith Elliott

R. Keith Elliott

West Palm Beach, FL


Frances Gardner

USC Regional Campus Faculty/ Staff Representative


S. Stanley Juk, Jr., MD, FACC

Lexington Cardiology; Columbia, SC


Sandra J. Kelly

USC Columbia Campus Faculty/ Staff Representative

Leah B. Moody

Leah B. Moody

USC Board of Trustees Representative

W. Haigh Porter

W. Haigh Porter

Attorney; Florence, SC


Jeff P. Spears

USC Aiken Representative


Tony Tam

 IMIC Hotels; Columbia, SC


Ex Officio Members of the Board

Eugene Warr

John C. von Lehe, Jr.

Chairman, USC Board of Trustees

Jancy L. Houck

 Jancy L. Houck

Vice President, USC Development and Alumni Relations


Administrative Liaison to the Board

Joan T.A. Gabel

Joan T. A. Gabel

Provost, University of South Carolina