University Committee on Tenure and Promotion Annual Report for 2021-2022 August 15th, 2022

I. Introduction

The University Committee on Tenure and Promotion (UCTP) elected to hold its weekly meetings on Wednesday 3:35-6:00 pm using Microsoft Teams due to COVID-19. Candidates for promotion and/or tenure were reviewed in groups (waves) as received from the provost's office. The UCTP met with the President on Tuesday, November 9 at 2-4 pm and Wednesday, April 20 at 3:30 pm. The Faculty Manual requires such a meeting for discussing cases where the UCTP and the Provost have disagreed, but the meeting is also a venue to discuss cases that merit additional scrutiny or allow one to draw general lessons for the T&P process.

II. Membership

During the academic year 2020-2021, the UCTP had its full statutory membership of 24 tenured professors, 15 elected, and 9 appointed by the President through the Office of the Provost. Robert Mullen (Civil and Environmental Engineering) served as Chair during this time. The UCTP membership, ordered by the year member is departing the committee, is in the table below.

First Name	Last Name	Unit	College	Final Year on UCTP	Appointed or Elected
ЛАЛА	ZHANG	Epidemiology and Biostatistics	Arnold School of Public Health	2022	Е
MATTHEW	MILLER	Mathematics	College of Arts and Sciences	2022	Е
STEPHANIE	MITCHEM	Religious Studies	College of Arts and Sciences	2022	Е
ROBERT	MULLEN	Civil and Environmental Engineering	College of Engineering and Computing	2022	A
LUCY	GREEN	School of Information Science	College of Information and Communications	2022	E
GERALD	MCDERMOTT	Department of International Business	Darla Moore School of Business	2022	Е
JACQUELINE	FOX	School of Law	School of Law	2022	А
LYNN	KOMPASS	School of Music	School of Music	2022	А
SUDHA	XIRASAGAR	Health Services Policy and Management	Arnold School of Public Health	2023	Е
THOMAS	BROWN	History	College of Arts and Sciences	2023	A
AMANDA	FAIRCHILD	Psychology	College of Arts and Sciences	2023	E
JOHANNES	STRATMANN	Biological Sciences	College of Arts and Sciences	2023	E
SCOTT	TURNER*	Management	Darla Moore School of Business	2023	Е
KRISHNA	MANDAL	Electrical Engineering	College of Engineering and Computing	2023	А
SUE	LEVKOFF	College of Social Work	College of Social Work	2023	Е
SCOTT	VANDERVELDE	Accounting	Darla Moore School of Business	2023	A

VARSHA	KULKARNI	Physics and Astronomy	College of Arts and Sciences	2024	Е
MICHAEL	DOWDY	English Language and Literature	College of Arts and Sciences	2024	Е
JOHN	FERRY	Chemistry and Biochemistry	College of Arts and Sciences	2024	Е
JERRY	HILBISH	Biological Sciences	College of Arts and Sciences	2024	Е
JEAN	DAVIS	College of Nursing	College of Nursing	2024	Е
ЛМ	FADEL	Pharmacology, Physiology & Neuroscience	School of Medicine	2024	А
STEPHEN	SHAPIRO*	Department of Sport and Entertainment Management	College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management	2024	А
RHONDA	JEFFRIES	Department of Instruction & Teacher Education	College of Education	2024	А

*Due to departures from the University, Collin Webster and Elizabeth Ravlin were replaced by Scott Turner and Stephen Shapiro.

III. Tenure and Promotion Files

The UCTP reviewed 29 candidate files during the Fall and 37 candidate files during the Spring, for a total of 66 files reviewed in the academic year 2021-2022. The Provost Report to the General Faculty Meeting contains numerical information about agreements and disagreements between the various levels in the T&P process, including UCTP.

IV. Unit Criteria

No new unit criteria were submitted to UCTP during the academic year 2021-2022. This dropoff in criteria submitted for review is likely because of the pandemic. The need to have unit criteria updated and reviewed should be an important topic for the provost's office and the UCTP to address next year.

V. Other Business

Starting in January 2022, the UCTP held several discussions on the selection of the Chair for the 2022-2023 academic year. The position remains unfilled and will have to be addressed by the new committee at its first meeting.

A list of candidates for election to membership in the committee has been assembled however, it was too late in the semester to hold elections. Elections will have to be held as soon as faculty report back to campus in the Fall of 2022.

Robert Mullen and Lisa Hammond conducted two Orientation Sessions for Faculty and Unit Tenure and Promotion Chairs online on April 27th, 2021.

Respectfully submitted:

Mula

Robert L. Mullen