University Committee on Professional-Track Faculty Report to the Faculty Senate July 29th, 2022

The University Committee on Professional-Track Faculty has met monthly this academic year. The Committee charge is as follows:

The University Committee on Professional-Track Faculty is responsible for 1) reviewing and approving college, school, and academic policies regarding professional-track faculty; 2) proposing and reviewing university wide policies regarding professional-track faculty; and 3) advising the Faculty Senate and the administration regarding issues related to professional-track faculty. The committee shall consist of seven members: five elected faculty members including a majority of professional-track faculty members, one member elected by the University Committee on Tenure and Promotion, and a representative of the Office of the Provost serving as an ex-officio member (voting) of the committee.

The committee's work in progress and completed to date includes the following:

- Completed an exploratory review of extant university policy related to professionaltrack faculty. The <u>University of South Carolina Columbia Faculty Manual</u> currently contains very little information specific to professional-track faculty, but there are four relevant policies:
 - ACAF 1.00 Recruitment and Appointment of Tenured, Tenure-track, and Professional-track Faculty
 - ACAF 1.06 Academic Titles for Faculty and Unclassified Academic Staff Positions
 - ACAF 1.16 Professional-track Faculty
 - ACAF 1.18 Change of Status between Tenure Track and Professional Track.

Revisions to the Faculty Manual clarifying or creating procedures for formulating unit criteria and procedures, as well as general standards for assessment of faculty, will be required. It is expected that recommendations will be forthcoming for Senate consideration in the 2022-2023 academic year.

- 2. Completed an exploratory review of extant college, school, and academic policies related to professional-track faculty. The Committee worked with the Office of the Provost to create a new website that houses the current policies and procedures.
 - Professional-Track Faculty
 - <u>Professional-Track Faculty Appointments and Promotions</u>
 - Unit Criteria for Professional-Track Faculty

In most cases, the current unit criteria have been approved within the colleges and schools. Some criteria are robust, while others would benefit from revision. Criteria date from 2006 to 2021, all prior to the creation of this committee. Once guidance is in place, units will be requested to update criteria.

- 3. Developing an initial framework for reviewing unit criteria governing professional-track faculty appointment and promotion policies. The committee has received proposed criteria from three academic units and is currently preparing responses to those units. With the limited guidance in place at this time, the committee will issue provisional approval in some cases that will allow units to operate under their proposed criteria, with the understanding that when formal guidance is published, those units may be requested to address additional considerations. In the interim period, with the approval of the Office of the Provost, professional-track faculty may choose to apply for promotions under the currently extant unit criteria or the newly provisionally approved criteria. Long-term, the committee will make a recommendation as to determining applicable criteria for professional-track faculty; this will be addressed in future guidance.
- 4. Developing a document titled UCPTF Guidelines for Units: Preparing Criteria and Files. This guidance is analogous to the University Committee on Tenure and Promotions Guidelines published by the UCTP, but particular to the needs of professional-track faculty. The committee will seek feedback on a draft document in Fall 2022.

As the committee is trying to focus on moving forward on item three and four, it is requested that units hold off on requesting approval until the guidelines are complete, which is expected in **Spring of 2023**.

Elected Committee Members

- Kate Chappell, Clinical Associate Professor, College of Nursing (2022)
- Brianne Dunn, Clinical Associate Professor, Clinical Pharmacy and Outcomes Sciences, College of Pharmacy (2023) **Co-Chair**
- Graham Duncan, Librarian, South Caroliniana Library (2023)
- Sean Yee, Associate Professor, Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences (2024) Co-Chair
- Marco Valtorta, Computer Science and Engineering (2022)

Appointed Committee Members

Cheryl Addy, ex officio, Office of the Provost (2022)

Advisory to the Committee

Lisa Hammond, ad hoc, Office of the Provost (2022)