University Committee on Tenure and Promotions Annual Report for Academic Year 2022-2023

August 2023

I. Introduction

The University Committee on Tenure and Promotions (UCTP) met on Wednesdays from 3:30-5:00 PM over Microsoft Teams. Candidates for promotion and/or tenure were reviewed in groups as received from the Office of the Provost. The UCTP met with the President on November 21, 2022 (virtual) and May 1, 2023 (in person).

II. Membership

The UCTP members for the 2022-2023 academic year are presented below. Unless noted otherwise, the committee member served during the fall 2022 and spring 2023 semesters. Professors Jean Ellis (Geography, CAS) and Lucy Green (CIC) served as co-chairs in the fall; Jean Ellis served as Chair in the spring. In the fall semester, the committee had 23 members, which is one member short. In the table below, 'end date' refers to the culmination of the committee member's three-year term in August.

Name	Department	College	End Date	Role Type	Notes
Amanda Fairchild	Psychology	Arts and Sciences	2023	elected	Fall only - sabbatical in Spring
Johannes Stratmann	Biological Sciences	Arts and Sciences	2023	elected	
Thomas Brown	History	Arts and Sciences	2023	appointed	
Ramkumar Janakiraman	Marketing	Business	2023	appointed	
Scott Turner	Management	Business	2023	elected	
Krishna Mandal	Electrical Engineering	Engineering	2023	appointed	
Sudha Xirasagar	Health Services Policy And Mgt	Public Heath	2023	elected	
Sue Levkoff		Social Work	2023	elected	
David Darmofal	Political Science	Arts and Sciences	2024	elected	Spring only (Committee member replacement)
Jerry Hilbish	Biological Sciences	Arts and Sciences	2024	elected	Fall only
John Ferry	Chemistry & Biochemistry	Arts and Sciences	2024	elected	
Varsha Kulkarni	Physics & Astronomy	Arts and Sciences	2024	elected	Fall only - sabbatical in Spring
Rhonda Jeffries	Instruc & Teacher Education	Education	2024	appointed	
Stephen Shapiro	Sport & Entertainment Management	HRSM	2024	appointed	
James Fadel	Pharmacology, Physiology & Neuroscience	Medicine - Cola	2024	appointed	
Jean Davis	College of Nursing	Nursing	2024	elected	
Dwayne Porter	Envt. Heath Sciences	Public Health	2024	elected	Spring only (Committee member replacement)
Jean Ellis	Geography	Arts and Sciences	2025	elected	
Lauren Sklaroff	History	Arts and Sciences	2025	elected	
Yi Sun	Mathematics	Arts and Sciences	2025	elected	
Sali Li	International Business	Business	2025	elected	
Chin-tser Huang	Computer Sci & Eng	Engineering	2025	appointed	
Lori Pennington-Gray	Tourism	HRSM	2025	elected	Spring only (Committee member replacement)
Lucilia Green		Information Science	2025	elected	Fall only
Jaclyn Cherry	Law Office	Law	2025	elected	
Phillip Buckhaults	Drug Discovery And Biomed Sci	Pharmacy	2025	appointed	
Lucy Spence	Instruction and Teacher Education	Education			Spring only (one semester sabbatical replacement
Tena Crews	Sport and Entertainment Management	HRSM			Spring only (one semester sabbatical replacement)

III. Tenure and Promotion Files

The UCTP reviewed 77 files during this academic year.

IV. Other Business

The UCTP revised its Internal Rules and the UCTP Guideline for Units documents. The latter are posted on the Office of the Provost's website.

The UCTP provided the Faculty Senate Office with a slate of ten faculty for UCTP elections during the spring semester. Five new faculty were elected. These faculty will have a start date of 16 August 2023.

Jean Ellis met with the Provost after the fall and spring semesters.

Jean Ellis and Lisa Hammond conducted two Orientation Sessions for Faculty and Unit Tenure and Promotion Chairs online on April 25, 2023. Jean Ellis substantially revised the orientation presentations.

Jean Ellis produced a UCTP Chairs handbook.

Meetings with the President for AY 23-24 have been arranged.

Jean Ellis was elected to serve as UCTP Chair for the academic year 2023-2024; however, she stepped down from the UCTP in August 2023 to accept an administrative position within the Graduate School. The Chair of the Faculty Senate will chair the first UCTP meeting to elect a new UCTP Chair and elect a new member to fill the vacant (faculty-elected) slot.