INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT FOR FACULTY SENATE

After about six years of work, including consultation with faculty and administration at Columbia and other campuses, the Committee submitted a proposal for a new Copyright Policy (ACAF 1.35) in 2021, which become university policy in 2022-23.

The new Copyright Policy is part of a package of changes, including a major revision to the University's Intellectual Property Policy (ACAF 1.33) to remove copyright provisions and focus the policy on patentable works, and repealing the out-of-date Software Policy (ACAF 1.39).

The new Copyright Policy was posted for a public comment period before it was signed by the President.

The policy generally provides that faculty will typically hold the copyrights to academic works they create within the scope of their employment, in any medium (including online), subject to a few, limited exceptions such as work funded by an external entity that requires it to own the work as a condition of the funding.

Committee Membership (2023-24)

Name	Position	Department	Term Expires
Mohamad Azhar,		Cell Biology and	
Chair	Elected	Anatomy/Medicine	2024
Rafael Becerril Arreola	Elected	Marketing	2025
Biplav Srivastava	Elected	Computer Sci & Eng	2024
Rosemarie Booze	Elected	Psychology	2026
Leigh Pate	Elected	College Of Nursing	2025
Jay Potts	Elected	Cell Biology and Anatomy/Medicine	2026
Peter Binev	Appointed	Mathematics	2026
Linda Shimizu	Appointed	Chemistry & Biochemistry	2026
Tessa Davis	Appointed	Law Office	2026
Charles Hardaway	Appointed, ex officio Appointed, ex	Office Of Economic Engagement	
George Lampl	officio	Office Of General Counsel	

Respectfully submitted,

Mohamad Azhar

Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy, School of Medicine Chair, Intellectual Property Committee