Faculty Advisory Committee Annual Report for the 2022-2023 Academic Year Dr. Robert Brookshire, chair report prepared by Bill Sudduth, University Libraries submitted September 11, 2023

Committee Membership 2022-2023 Academic Year

Robert Brookshire, DED, Integrated Information Technology (2023) Armen Shaomian, HRSM, Sport and Entertainment Management (2023) William Sudduth, University Libraries, Govt Info & Maps (2024) Subrahmanyam Bulusu, CAS, School Of Earth, Ocean, & Environment (2024) Lingyu Yu, CEC, Mechanical Engineering (2024) Leigh Moscowitz, CIC, School Of Journalism & Mass Communications (2024) Rachel Onello, College Of Nursing (2025) Jabarie Glass, School Of Music (2025)

### September 2022

Reviewed ACAF 1.05 policy - Tenure-progress Review of Faculty (revised October 2022)

### October 2022

Proposed addition to the Faculty Manual -

#### **BUDGET COMMITTEES**

Each college, school, and any other Dean-led Unit shall have a committee that participates in the decision-making process of allocating funds to its programs. This may be a newly formed or preexisting committee. Whether forming a new committee or charging an existing one, this committee should be made up of a majority of elected faculty. Each Unit shall decide on an appropriate size for this committee (but no less than five members).

#### December 2022

Reviewed ACAF 1.60 – Modified duties for Faculty – response to passage of new Paid parental Leave Act signed by the governor in the Summer of 2022.

Reviewed draft Freedom of Expression Statement

#### January 2023

Continued review of Academic Freedom and Freedom of Expression Statement

Finalized academic unit level Budget Committee proposal for inclusion in Faculty Manual

Discussion of Academic Grievance Procedures and possible modifications to the Faculty Manual

# February 2023

Discussion of Proposed Changes to the Faculty Manual: Committee on Professional-Track Faculty

## March 2023

Discussion of University Policies -

ACAF 2.03- Creation and Revision of Academic Courses (revised June 13, 2023) ACAF 2.09 - International Travel Policy for Students (revised June 13, 2023) UNIV 2.50 - Affiliate Appointments UNIV 6.00 - Freedom of Expression and Access to Campus

Discussion of Faculty Manual – Section 3 – Research and Scholarship

Discussion of Graduate Council Proposal to Amend the Faculty Manual (passed committee; not brought before Faculty Senate in 2022-2023 academic year; will be reviewed by the committee Fall of 2023 for submission to Faculty Senate)

Discussion of ACAF 1.16 – Professional Track Faculty - This policy provides expectations and procedures for recruitment, appointment, evaluation, and promotion of professional-track faculty. Discussion needed based on proposed revisions from University Committee on Professional Track Faculty (UCPTF). Discussion will continue into the 2023-2024 academic year.

Discussion of ACAF 1.06 - Academic Titles for Faculty and Unclassified Academic Staff Positions (revised August 15, 2023). Revision also reflects new HR 1.87 policy - Unclassified Staff in Research Positions (revised August 15, 2023)

## April 2023

Final discussions on revision of Section 3 of the Faculty Manual (Research) and Graduate Council Proposal to Amend the Faculty Manual (passed committee; not brought before Faculty Senate in 2022-2023 academic year; will be reviewed by the committee Fall of 2023 for submission to Faculty Senate)

In addition to regular monthly meetings, the Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC) held several townhalls from December through March focusing on the proposed revisions of the faculty manual, Academic Freedom and Freedom of Expression, and proposed language being developed by the University Committee on Professional Track Faculty (UCPTF). Given the extent of the proposals there remains several holdover items from 2022-2023 committee that will need to be addressed during the 2023-2024 academic year.

At the April meeting Bill Sudduth, University Libraries was elected chair of the committee for the 2023-2024 academic year. The committee would like to thank the service given by all of the 2022-2023 committee members and in particular its chair Dr. Robert Brookshire.