Skip to Content

Coronavirus: Get complete details about the university's response to COVID-19.

Division of Information Technology

Research Computing

Symposium on Research Computing

The 2017 Symposium was held on Friday, April 14 in the Hollings Library on the Columbia campus. The purpose of this event was to increase awareness of campus-wide needs for research at the University of South Carolina.  Presentations and discussion topics included high performance computing, specialized software applications and storage, and archival and curation of data.


  • Faculty Senate Ad Hoc IT Advisory Committee - John Grego (Chair)
  • Integrated Information Technology - Bob Brookshire
  • Research Computing Group - Phil Moore
  • Director, Molecular Microbial Ecology Laboratory - Sean Norman
  • Research Professor, Chemical Engineering - Sirivatch Shimpalee
  • Assistant Professor, Department of Statistics/Department of Biological Sciences - Yen-Yi Ho


8:30 Continental Breakfast
9:05 Welcome
John Grego
Professor of Statistics and Department Chair
Department of Statistics
9:10 Introduction of Keynote Speaker
Prakash Nagarkatti
Vice President for Research
University of South Carolina
9:15 Keynote presentation
Amy Friedlander
National Science Foundation Deputy Office Director
Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure  (CISE/ACI)
Broadening HPC resources through Data Management
 10:00 Doug Foster
Vice President for Information Technology and CIO
University of South Carolina
10:15 Phil Moore
Director of Research Computing
10:30 Shamia Hoque
Assistant Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering and Computing
11:00 Lightning Talks
Moderated by Bob Brookshire
Integrated Information Technology

-- Sophya Garashchuk, “Incorporation of Nuclear Quantum Effects into Trajectory-Based Dynamics of Large Molecular Systems”
--  Joseph Johnson, “MetaNumber (MN): Numerical Data Standardization and Processing"
-- Andrew Kail, “SRNL Scientific Computing: Built on Python”
-- Amir Karami, “Analyzing Millions of Tweets for Social Science and Health”
-- Zhenlong Li, “Geospatial Big Data Analytics with High Performance Computing”
-- Sirivatch Shimpalee, “Using High Performance Computing to Advance Hydrogen Fuel Cells Research: Multi-scale Modeling of Transports inside Fuel Cells"

12:00 Box Lunch and poster sessions 
Lunch sponsored by IBM
12:55 Introduction of Speaker
Hossein Haj-Hariri
Dean of College of Engineering and Computing
1:00 Andy Warner
Distinguished Technologist in the HPC Advanced Technologies Group
HPC Segment Solutions: The Path to Exascale
1:30 Anthony Scopatz
Assistant Professor
Mechanical Engineering Department
2:00 Joshua Patterson
Director of Applied Solution Engineering
Big Data Analytics and Accelerated Computing
2:30 Chris Rorden
Smart State Chair and Professor in Neuroimaging Research
Department of Psychology and McCausland Center for Brain Imaging
3:00 Lightning Talks
Moderated by Bob Brookshire
Integrated Information Technology

-- Brian Canada, "The Past, Present, and Future of Computational Science at the University of South Carolina Beaufort"
-- Naidu Chitrala, “Role of high performance computing molecular dynamic simulations in revealing the key residues of AhR ligand binding domain conferring mechanistic interactions with the ligands”
-- Yen-Yi Ho, “Case-Oriented Pathway Analysis Using Data from a Sleep Beauty Transposon Mutagenesis Screen”
-- Erik Palmer, “A Parallel Approach to Modeling Polymer Gel Dynamics”
-- Mark Uline, “Using Parallel Computing to Effectively Study Molecular Interactions in Soft Matter Systems”

4:00 Wrap-up


  • “Non-Destructive Determination of Magnetic Audio Tape Degradation for Various Tape Chemistries Using Spectroscopy and Chemometrics”, Alyssa Abraham, Nilmini Ratnasena, Nathan Fuenffinger, Brianna M. Cassidy, Jessica R. Rotheiser, Tret C. Burdette, Aleah Singleton, Caleb Simpson, Eric M. Breitung, Eric Munroe, Fenella France, Heather M. Heckman, Lydia C. Pappas,  Gregory Wilbacher, Michael L. Myrick, and Stephen L. Morgan
  • “Theoretical Study of Proton Tunneling through hexagonal-Boron Nitride”, Niranji Ekanayake
  • “Rickshaw: A Stochastic Automated Driver for the Cyclus Modeling Package”, Adam Glenn and Anthony Scopatz
  • “Code Generated HDF5 Interface for C++ Primitive and Template Types”, Ryan Hodge and Anthony Scopatz
  • “Microscale Modeling of Water Breakthrough Inside Porous Material Using Computational Fluid Dynamics with Lattice Boltzmann Method”, Pongsarun Satjaritanun, Sirivatch Shimpalee and John W. Weidner
  • “Visualization of Scientific Datasets using Point Clouds in a Virtual Reality Environment”, Cam Stewart, Diana Lem, Chad Gallati, Jose M. Vidal, and Phil Moore
  • “A Scalable Python workflow for Reproducible Collaborative Analysis and Visuals of Microbiome Data”, Ben Torkin, Andrew Howden, Eva Preisner and R. S. Norman
  • “Research Computing Center at College of Arts and Sciences”, Jun Zhou

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.