Skip to Content

The Division of Information Technology

Faculty and Staff IT Advisory

The Faculty and Staff IT Advisory Committee consists of approximately 30 cross-representative thought and opinion leaders that work together to make sure all stakeholders’ interests and needs are considered. The group meets four times per year to discuss and prioritize IT topics for further exploration. Committee members identify IT initiatives that will benefit the education and research goals of the university. Topics on which to focus are selected by vote of the entire committee. Small, ad‐hoc teams are assigned to each topic. These teams take approximately 6-8 weeks to research topics, identify benefits of implementation, uncover potential restraints, and submit a formal report to the entire committee. After reviewing the reports of subcommittees, the committee may approve initiatives for implementation. The Chief Information Officer and Division of Information Technology will then take ownership of implementation. All reports of subcommittees will be listed on this page. 
If you are interested in joining the group for the 2018-19 academic year, we would love your involvement. Please email Michelle Foster at

Membership, 2017-18:

Elise Ahyi - Director of Strategic Partnerships, University Communications
Andrea Benigni - Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering
Bob Brookshire - Director of Graduate Studies/Professor, Integrated Information Technology
Juan Caicedo - Undergraduate Student Director/Professor, College of Engineering and Computing
Mark Cooper - Professor/Director of Film and Media Studies Program
Mohammed Dasser - Assistant VP of Advancement Services, Development Office
Laurel Eddins - Director of Service Operations, Division of Information Technology
Michael Galbreth - Professor, Department of Management Science
John Grego - Professor/Department Chair, Statistics
Matt Heightland - Server Manager, USC Beaufort
Jeff Hostilo - Director of Collaborative Technology and Academic Support, Division of Information Technology
Geniese James - Director of Information Resources, Office of the Provost
Trevor Jerue - Knowledge Manager, Division of Information Technology
Debbie Kassianos - Director of IT and Data Management, Division of Research 
Venis Manigo - Director of Purchasing
Elizabeth Mathis - Director of Technical Operations, Division of Information Technology
Matt McGrievy - Director of Web Development and Communications Core, Arnold School of Public Health
Lesley Nussbaum - Director of Remote HR Services, Division of Human Resources
Holly Pae - Professor/Faculty Chair, College of Education, USC Upstate
James Perry - Chief Information Security Officer, Division of Information Technology
Christian Price - IT Manager, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Susa Rathbun-Grubb - Assistant Professor, School of Library & Information Science
Dave Rodriguez - Network Manager, College of Social Work
Randy Rollings - Director of IT, Athletics
Sean Sims - Student Information Systems Program Manager, Division of Information Technology
Susan Smith - Chief Operating Officer, University Foundations
Ben Torkian - Senior Applications Scientist, Research Computing, Division of Information Technology


Topics Explored in Spring 2018:

Click on a report to see the list of individuals who worked on the topic. 


Topics Explored in Fall 2017:

Click on a report to see the list of individuals who worked on the topic. 

If you would like to become involved in an IT governance group, or you have additional questions, contact