Skip to Content

Center for Teaching Excellence



Each year in partnership with other campus units the CTE offers teaching innovation grants designed to provide resources and support for faculty who are interested in exploring new and cutting-edge approaches in their teaching in ways that promise to enhance student learning. Funded grantees have the opportunity to participate in a cohort program as a part of the award process.

All grants for 2016-2017 have been awarded. Check back in the fall for grants for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Grant Award Recipients 2016 - 2017

Yaroslaw Bazaliy, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Einstein’s Relativity: Understanding by Example, (PHYS 3xx)

Andy Gillentine, Department of Sport and Entertainment Management, Ethics in Sport and Entertainment Business (SPTE 385)

Deborah Hazzard-Robinson, Darla Moore School of Business, Principles of Management (MGMT 371)

Lara Lomicka-Anderson, Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures, UNIV 401

Diane McGhee Valle, Department of Theatre and Dance, DANC 101

Jacob Rivers, Department of English Language and Literature, Special Topics in American Literature: Major American Writers (ENG 285)

Jennifer Vendemia, Department of Psychology, Cognitive Psychology (Psych 405)

Yang Wang, College of Education, Reading Assessment (EDRD 716)

Teaching Innovation Grants for Course Transformation

David Tedeschi, Professor and Steven Rodney, Assistant Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Introduction to Astronomy (ASRT 101)

Darin Freeburg, School of Library and Information Science, Knowledge Management for Library & Information Professionals (SLIS 41O, SUS 726)
Patrick Hickey, College of Nursing, Perioperative Environment: Basic Survival Skills (SCHC 392)
R. Mac Jones, English, Extended University, E-Portfolios for BLS and BOL Degree Programs- Palmetto College (PALM 493, PALM 494, UNIV 401)
Zhenlong Li, Department of Geography, Spatial Programming (GEOG 554)
Haylee Uecker Mercado, Department  of Sport and Entertainment Management, Sustainable Sport and Entertainment Facility Management (SPTE 590)
Damien Picarello, Political Science and Anna Oswald-Hensley, Registrar's Office, USC Sumter, Graduation with Leadership Distinction (UNIV 401)
Charles Pierce, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Introduction to Civil Engineering (ECIV 201) and Computational Methods for Civil Engineering (ECIV 101)
Susan Rathbun-Grubb, School of Library and Information Science, Metadata (SLIS 735) and Indexing and Abstracting  (SUS 732)
Armen Shaomian, Department of Sport and Entertainment Management, The Business of Broadway (SPTE 590)
David Weintraub, School of Journalism and Mass Communications, Freelancing for Creative Professionals (JOUR 499-001)

Mark Cooper, Film and Media History, (FAMS 300)
Kathryn “Kay” Edwards, European History from Ancient Times to Mid-Seventeenth Century (HIST 101)
Mark Minett, Introduction to Film and Media Studies, (FAMS 240)
Carla Pfeffer, Sex and Gender (SOCY 301)

Alicia W. Walker, School of Music, Music Education and Service-Learning in South Africa (MUSC 399/599)
John Grady, Sport and Entertainment Management, College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management, exchange partnership with the Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (UAM) in Madrid, Spain


Shelley A.J. Jones, English, Extended University, South Carolina Studies, South Carolina Studies, PALM 493
Saskia Coenen Snyder,Department of History, History of the Holocaust, HIST 380