The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Board of Trustees – Called
In Person, Floyd Boardroom, Pastides Alumni Center
and By Microsoft Teams
June 6, 2024

OPEN SESSION

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair Westbrook called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

Board Members in attendance:

Thad H. Westbrook, Board Chair

Rose Buyck Newton, Board Vice Chair

C. Dan Adams (online)

Alex English

C. Edward Floyd (online)

Brian C. Harlan

Henry L. Jolly Jr. (online)

Richard A. Jones Jr.

E. Scott Moïse

Leah B. Moody (online)

Emma W. Morris (online)

Reid T. Sherard

John C. von Lehe Jr. (online)

Members Absent:

Hubert F. Mobley

C. Dorn Smith III

Ellen Weaver

Charles H. Williams

Others in attendance:

Patton Byars, USC Columbia Student Government President

Robin Roberts, Advisor to the Advancement, Engagement and Communication Committee (online)

David Seaton, Advisor to the Governance Committee (online)

Administrators in attendance:

Michael Amiridis, President Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees Michelle Dodenhoff, Vice President for Development Terry Parham, General Counsel

Media in attendance:

None

Notice:

Chair Westbrook stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Westbrook stated there was a need for an Executive Session to discuss details of a gift agreement, along with a potential academic naming, as listed on the public agenda for the meeting.

Mr. Harlan made the motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Sherard seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Westbrook invited the following to remain: Trustees, Mr. Byars, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Seaton, President Amiridis, Secretary Howell, Ms. Dodenhoff, Dr. Fritz, Mr. Parham, and Board support staff.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

III. Approval of a Gift Agreement and an Academic Naming

Mr. English made a motion to approve a gift agreement for and the naming of the University of South Carolina Molinaroli College of Engineering and Computing. Mr. Harlan seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

III. Adjournment

Chair Westbrook declared the meeting adjourned at 9:10 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary