The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

<u>Board of Trustees - Called</u> By Microsoft Teams Hosted from Osborne Administration, Suite 206 May 28, 2024

OPEN SESSION

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair Westbrook called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

Members in attendance: C. Dan Adams (online) Alex English (online) Brian C. Harlan (online) Henry L. Jolly Jr. (online) Richard A. Jones Jr. (online) Hubert F. Mobley (online) E. Scott Moïse (online) Leah B. Moody (online) Emma W. Morris (online) Reid T. Sherard (online) C. Dorn Smith III (online) John C. von Lehe Jr. (online) Charles H. Williams (online) Rose Buyck Newton, Board Vice Chair (online) Thad H. Westbrook, *Board Chair* (online)

Members absent: C. Edward Floyd Ellen Weaver

<u>Others in attendance</u>: Patton Byars, USC Columbia Student Body President (online) Wayne Outten, USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair (online) Robin Roberts, Advisor to the Advancement, Engagement and Communications Committee (online) Administrators in attendance: Michael Amiridis, President (online) Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees Donna Arnett, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Pam Dunleavy, Chief Audit Executive (online) Terry Parham, General Counsel Ed Walton, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration and Chief Financial Officer

Media in attendance: Ian Grenier, the Post & Courier

Notice:

Chair Westbrook stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Westbrook stated there was a need for an Executive Session for receipt of legal advice regarding policies listed on the public agenda for this meeting.

Mr. Harlan made the motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Mobley seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Westbrook invited the following to remain: Trustees, Mr. Byars, Dr. Outten, Mr. Roberts, President Amiridis, Secretary Howell, Dr. Arnett, Ms. Dunleavy, Dr. Fritz, Mr. Parham, Mr. Walton, and Board support staff.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

- <u>Executive Session Removed</u>

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

- II. <u>Approval of Revisions to Policies</u>
 - A. BTRU X.XX ("Affiliated Foundations, Entities and Organizations"
 - B. Retirement of BTRU 3.00 ("Appointment of Board Members to Serve on USC Foundation Boards")
 - C. STAF 6.26 ("Student Code of Conduct")

Mr. English made a motion to retire policy BTRU 3.00 ("Appointment of Board Members to Serve on USC Foundation Boards") and approve BTRU X.XX ("Affiliated Foundations, Entities, and Organizations") subject to edits proposed by Ms. Moïse and approve edits to policy STAF 6.26 ("Student Code of Conduct"). Ms. Moïse seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

BOT Called 052824

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Westbrook stated there was a need for Executive Session for the receipt of legal advice related to pending and potential claims.

Mr. von Lehe made a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Sherard seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Westbrook invited the following to remain: Trustees, Mr. Byars, Dr. Outten, Mr. Roberts, President Amiridis, Secretary Howell, Dr. Arnett, Dr. Fritz, Mr. Parham, Mr. Walton, and Board support staff.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

- <u>Executive Session Removed</u>

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

III. Adjournment

Chair Westbrook declared the meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary