The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Board of Trustees - Called
In Person Floyd Boardroom, Pastides Alumni Center
and By Microsoft Teams
February 23, 2024

OPEN SESSION

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair Westbrook called the meeting to order at 3:43 p.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

Members in attendance:

Thad H. Westbrook, Board Chair

Rose Buyck Newton, Board Vice Chair

C. Dan Adams

Alex English

C. Edward Floyd (online)

Brian C. Harlan

Henry L. Jolly Jr.

Richard A. Jones Jr.

E. Scott Moïse

Leah B. Moody

Emma W. Morris (online)

Reid T. Sherard

C. Dorn Smith III

John C. von Lehe Jr.

Ellen Weaver

Charles H. Williams

Members absent:

Miles Loadholt

Hubert F. Mobley

Others in attendance:

Wayne Outten, USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair

Emmie Thompson, USC Columbia Student Government President

Robin Roberts, Advisor to the Advancement, Engagement and Communications Committee (online)

David Seaton, Advisor to the Governance Committee (online)

Administrators in attendance:

Michael Amiridis, President

Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Donna Arnett, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Terry Parham, General Counsel

Ed Walton, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Media in attendance:

Ian Grenier, the *Post & Courier*Win Hammond, the *Daily Gamecock*Jessica Holdman, the *SC Gazette*

Notice:

Chair Westbrook stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

II. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>

The following minutes were listed on the agenda for approval:

- A. Board of Trustees (Retreat) January 19, 2024
- B. Board of Trustees (Retreat) January 20, 2024
- C. Governance Committee (Called) January 12, 2024
- D. Governance Committee (Called) January 29, 2024

Mr. Adams made a motion to approve the minutes as submitted. Dr. Jolly seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

III. Approval of Consent Agendas

The following written consent agendas were submitted for approval:

A. Academic Excellence and Student Experience Committee – February 23, 2024

- B. Audit, Compliance and Risk Committee February 23, 2024
- C. Finance and Infrastructure Committee (Called) February 23, 2024

Mr. Harlan made a motion to approve the consent agendas. Ms. Newton seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

IV. Approval of Vice President for Economic Development Employment Agreement

President Amiridis presented background in support of Dr. Steve Cutler filling the Vice President for Economic Development position. The new position will be in addition to his current duties as Dean of the College of Pharmacy.

Mr. von Lehe made a motion to approve the Vice President for Economic Development employment agreement as presented; Dr. Jolly seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Westbrook stated there was a need for an Executive Session to discuss a personnel issue regarding a proposed employment agreement for an administrative official.

Mr. Sherard made the motion to enter Executive Session, and Dr. Jolly seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was carried unanimously.

Chair Westbrook invited the following to remain: Trustees, Dr. Outten, Ms. Thompson, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Seaton, President Amiridis, Secretary Howell, Mr. Parham, Ms. Agardy, and Ms. Dunleavy.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

<u>RETURN TO OPEN SESSION</u>

V. <u>Adjournment</u>

Chair Westbrook declared the meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary