The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

# University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Board of Trustees – Called
In Person, Floyd Boardroom, Pastides Alumni Center
and By Microsoft Teams
February 24, 2023

#### OPEN SESSION

### I. Call to Order

Chair Westbrook called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

#### Members in attendance:

Thad H. Westbrook, Board Chair

Rose Buyck Newton, Board Vice Chair

C. Dan Adams

Alex English

C. Edward Floyd (online)

Brian C. Harlan

Henry L. Jolly Jr.

Richard A. Jones Jr.

Miles Loadholt (online)

Hubert F. Mobley

E. Scott Moïse

Leah B. Moody (online)

Emma W. Morris

Reid T. Sherard

C. Dorn Smith III

John C. von Lehe Jr.

Ellen Weaver

Charles H. Williams (online)

#### Others in attendance:

Robin Roberts, Advisor to the Advancement, Engagement and Communications Committee (online)

David Seaton, Advisor to the Governance Committee (online)

#### Administrators in attendance:

Michael Amiridis, President

Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Donna Arnett, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Terry Parham, General Counsel Ed Walton, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

#### Media in attendance:

Win Hammond, the *Daily Gamecock* Lianna Hubbard, the *Post and Courier* 

#### Notice:

Chair Westbrook stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

# II. Committee Assignments

Chair Westbrook welcomed new Trustees Hank Jolly and Reid Sherard. He stated Committee assignments for Trustees Jolly, Sherard, and Weaver were posted to the Board portal and members would begin voting in Committee meetings today according to their assignments.

Chair Westbrook stated the update was presented as information.

## III. Adjournment

Chair Westbrook declared the meeting adjourned at 9:07 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary