The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Board of Trustees – Called
In Person, Floyd Boardroom, Pastides Alumni Center
and By Microsoft Teams
January 20, 2023

#### **OPEN SESSION**

# I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair Westbrook called the meeting to order at 4:51 p.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

### Members in attendance:

Thad H. Westbrook, Board Chair

Rose Buyck Newton, Board Vice Chair (online)

C. Dan Adams

Alex English

C. Edward Floyd (online)

Brian C. Harlan

Richard A. Jones Jr.

Miles Loadholt (online)

Hubert F. Mobley

E. Scott Moïse

Leah B. Moody

Emma W. Morris

C. Dorn Smith III

John C. von Lehe Jr.

Ellen Weaver

Mack I. Whittle Jr.

Charles H. Williams

# Members Absent:

Toney J. Lister

#### Others in attendance:

Audrey Korsgaard, Chair USC Columbia Faculty Senate Reedy Newton, President USC Columbia Student Government Robin Roberts, Advisor to the Advancement, Engagement and Communications Committee David Seaton, Advisor to the Governance Committee

#### Administrators in attendance:

Michael Amiridis, President
Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees
Donna Arnett, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Terry Parham, General Counsel
Ed Walton, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

#### Media in attendance:

None

#### Notice:

Chair Westbrook stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

# II. Approval of Slate of Confidential Candidates for the Award of Honorary Degree

Chair Westbrook stated the Honorary Degree Subcommittee, President Amiridis, and the Academic Excellence and Student Experience Committee approved a slate of six confidential candidates for the award of Honorary Degree.

Mr. Williams made a motion to approve the slate of six confidential candidates. Dr. Smith seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

Chair Westbrook stated the slate was approved and the six candidates would "lay on the table."

# III. Adjournment

Chair Westbrook declared the meeting adjourned at 4:56 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary