The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Excellence and Student Experience Committee – Called In Person, Floyd Boardroom, Pastides Alumni Center and By Microsoft Teams January 20, 2023

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

Chair Adams called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

Committee Members in attendance:

C. Dan Adams, Chair

Alex English

Richard A. Jones Jr.

Leah B. Moody

Emma W. Morris

John C. von Lehe Jr.

Ellen Weaver

Thad H. Westbrook, Board Chair

Rose Buyck Newton, *Board Vice Chair* (online)

Other Trustees in Attendance:

C. Edward Floyd (online)

Brian C. Harlan

Miles Loadholt (online)

Hubert F. Mobley

E. Scott Moïse

C. Dorn Smith III

Mack I. Whittle Jr.

Charles H. Williams

Others in attendance:

Audrey Korsgaard, Chair USC Columbia Faculty Senate Reedy Newton, President USC Columbia Student Government Robin Roberts, Advisor to the Advancement, Engagement and Communications Committee David Seaton, Advisor to the Governance Committee

Administrators in attendance:

Michael Amiridis, President

Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees Donna Arnett, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Terry Parham, General Counsel Ed Walton, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Media in attendance:

None

Notice:

Chair Adams stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Adams stated there was a need for an Executive Session to consider a slate of confidential candidates for the award of Honorary Degree.

Mr. von Lehe made a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. English seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Adams invited the following to remain: Trustees, Dr. Korsgaard, Mr. Seaton, Secretary Howell, President Amiridis, and Mr. Parham.

Trustee Rose Buyck Newton and Ms. Reedy Buyck Newton recused themselves.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

<u>RETURN TO OPEN SESSION</u>

II. Approval of Slate of Confidential Candidates for the Award of Honorary Degree

Chair Adams stated that six confidential candidates for the award of Honorary Degree were presented in Executive Session without objection.

Mr. English made a motion to approve the slate of six confidential candidates as presented in Executive Session. Ms. Moody seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

Chair Adams stated the slate of six confidential candidates for the award of Honorary Degree was approved and would be submitted to the full Board for consideration at its called meeting immediately following this meeting.

III. Adjournment

Chair Adams declared the meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary