The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Governance Committee - Called

By Microsoft Teams Hosted from the Osborne Administration Building, Suite 206B January 6, 2023

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

Chair Newton called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams.

Committee Members in attendance:

Rose Buyck Newton, Chair (online)

C. Dan Adams (online)

Hubert F. Mobley

E. Scott Moïse (online)

Leah B. Moody (online)

C. Dorn Smith III (online)

Mack I. Whittle Jr. (online)

Thad H. Westbrook, Board Chair

Other Trustees in attendance:

Alex English (online)

C. Edward Floyd (online)

Brian C. Harlan (online)

Richard A. Jones Jr. (online)

Toney Lister (online)

Miles Loadholt (online)

Emma W. Morris (online)

John C. von Lehe Jr. (online)

Other in attendance:

David Seaton, Special Advisor to the Governance Committee (online)

Administrators in attendance:

Michael Amiridis, President

Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Terry Parham, General Counsel

Ray Tanner, Athletics Director

Larry Thomas, Vice President for Communications

Ed Walton, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

GC Called 010623 Page **1** of **3**

Media in attendance:

Emily Adams, the Greenville News
David Cloninger, the Post & Courier
Allen Cole, GamecockScoop.com
Bill Dinicola, WIS-TV
Sydney Dunlap, the Daily Gamecock
Hale McGranahan, BigSpur.com
Ben Portnoy, the State
Collyn Taylor, Gamecock Central
John Whittle, BigSpur.com

Notice:

Chair Newton stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Newton stated there was a need for an Executive Session for the receipt of legal advice regarding proposed contractual matters pertaining to the Head Football Coach and six assistant football coaches.

Dr. Smith made the motion to enter Executive Session. Ms. Moïse seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Newton invited the following to remain: Trustees, Mr. Seaton, President Amiridis, Secretary Howell, Mr. Parham, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Walton, and Board support staff.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. <u>Approval of Athletics Contracts</u>

Mr. Parham presented proposed Athletics Department contracts and amendments for approval.

A. <u>Proposed Amendments to the Employment Agreement – Head Football Coach Shane</u> Beamer

Mr. Mobley made a motion to approve the proposed amendments to Head Football Coach Shane Beamer's employment agreement as presented and posted to the Board portal. Mr. Moïse seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion carried, with Trustee Moody voting against the motion.

GC Called 010623 Page **2** of **3**

B. Proposed Assistant Football Coach/Offensive Line Coach – Lonnie Teasley

Dr. Smith made a motion to approve the proposed Assistant Football Coach/Offensive Line Coach Lonnie Teasley employment agreement. Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously.

C. Approval of Contract Amendments to Current Assistant Football Coaches

Mr. Parham presented 5 proposed amendments to the following Assistant Football Coaches for approval:

- 1. Torrian Gray
- 2. Montario Hardesty
- 3. Jimmy Lindsey
- 4. Sterling Lucas
- 5. Clayton White

Dr. Smith made a motion to approve the contract amendments to the current Assistant Football Coaches as presented and posted to the Board portal. Mr. Adams seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously.

III. Adjournment

Chair Newton declared the meeting adjourned at 4:37 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary

GC Called 010623 Page **3** of **3**