The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Excellence and Student Experience Committee - Called In Person, 1525 Senate Street, Suite 273, Room 271 and By Microsoft Teams November 10, 2023

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

Chair English called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

Committee Members in attendance:

Alex English, Chair

C. Dan Adams (online)

Richard A. Jones Jr.

Leah B. Moody

Emma W. Morris

John C. von Lehe Jr. (online)

Ellen Weaver (online)

Rose Buyck Newton, Board Vice Chair

Thad H. Westbrook, Board Chair

Other Trustees in attendance:

C. Edward Floyd (online)

Brian C. Harlan (online)

Henry L. Jolly Jr.

Hubert F. Mobley

E. Scott Moïse

Reid T. Sherard

C. Dorn Smith III (online)

Charles H. Williams

Others in attendance:

Wayne Outten, USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Emmie Thompson, USC Columbia Student Government President

Administrators in attendance:

Michael Amiridis, President

Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Donna Arnett, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Michelle Dodenhoff, Vice President for Development

William Hubbard, USC School of Law Dean

Terry Parham, General Counsel

Ed Walton, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Media in attendance:

Alexa Jurado, the State

Notice:

Chair English stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair English stated there was a need for an Executive Session to discuss details of a gift agreement, along with a potential academic naming, as listed on the public agenda for the meeting.

Ms. Moody made the motion to enter Executive Session, and Mr. von Lehe seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair English invited the following to remain: Trustees, Dr. Outten, Ms. Thompson, President Amiridis, Secretary Howell, Dr. Arnett, Ms. Dodenhoff, Dean Hubbard, Mr. Parham, Mr. Walton, and Board support staff.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. Approval of Gift Agreement and Academic Naming

Ms. Moody made a motion to approve a gift agreement and naming of the University of South Carolina Joseph F. Rice School of Law for \$30 million as presented in Executive Session without objection. Mr. von Lehe seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

III. Adjournment

Chair English declared the meeting adjourned at 10:17 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary