The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

# University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

# Board of Trustees In Person Floyd Boardroom, Pastides Alumni Center and By Microsoft Teams October 13, 2023

# **OPEN SESSION**

# I. Call to Order

Chair Westbrook called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

#### Members in attendance:

Thad H. Westbrook, Board Chair

Rose Buyck Newton, Board Vice Chair

C. Dan Adams

Alex English

C. Edward Floyd

Brian C. Harlan

Henry L. Jolly Jr.

Richard A. Jones Jr.

Hubert F. Mobley

E. Scott Moïse

Leah B. Moody

Emma W. Morris

Reid T. Sherard

C. Dorn Smith III

John C. von Lehe Jr. (online)

Charles Williams

#### Members absent:

Miles Loadholt

Ellen Weaver

# Others in attendance:

Wayne Outten, USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Emmie Thompson, USC Columbia Student Government President Robin Roberts, Advisor to the Advancement, Engagement and Communications Committee David Seaton, Advisor to the Governance Committee

# Administrators in attendance:

Michael Amiridis, President Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees Donna Arnett, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Terry Parham, General Counsel Ed Walton, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

#### Media in attendance:

Li Hubbard, the *Post & Courier* Alexa Jurado, the *State* Winn Hammond, the *Daily Gamecock* 

# Notice:

Chair Westbrook stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chair Westbrook and President Amiridis commented on the violence in the Middle East. Chair Westbrook called for a moment of silence.

# II. <u>Invocation</u>

Father Rhett Williams, Pastor of St. Thomas More Catholic Church and Catholic Chaplin Ministry of USC, delivered the invocation.

# MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Westbrook stated there was a need for an Executive Session for the discussion of personnel matters related to nominations for the Board of Visitors, confidential candidates for the award of honorary degree, and for discussion of an affiliation agreement listed on the public agenda for this meeting.

Dr. Smith made the motion to enter Executive Session, and Mr. English seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Westbrook invited the following to remain: Trustees, Dr. Outten, Ms. Thompson, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Seaton, President Amiridis, Secretary Howell, Dr. Fritz, Mr. Parham, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Walton, and Board support staff.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Executive Session Removed

#### RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

# III. Approval of Minutes

Chair Westbrook stated ten sets of minutes were posted to the Board portal for approval.

- A. Advancement, Engagement and Communications Committee September 15, 2023
- B. Audit, Compliance and Risk Committee August 18, 2023
- C. Board of Trustees June 23, 2023
- D. Board of Trustees (Called) September 15, 2023
- E. Finance and Infrastructure Committee (Called) August 18, 2023
- F. Governance Committee (Called) June 9, 2023
- G. Governance Committee June 23, 2023
- H. Health and Medical Affairs Committee June 23, 2023
- I. Health and Medical Affairs Committee September 15, 2023
- J. University System Committee September 15, 2023

Dr. Smith made a motion to approve the ten sets of minutes posted to the Board portal. Ms. Moody seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the minutes were approved as posted.

# IV. Approval of Consent Agendas

Chair Westbrook stated the following written consent agendas were submitted for approval, as posted to the Board portal:

- A. Academic Excellence and Student Experience Committee October 13, 2023
- B. Audit, Compliance and Risk Committee October 13, 2023
- C. Governance Committee October 13, 2023

Mr. Williams made a motion to approve the three consent agendas as posted to the Board portal. Mr. Adams seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

# V. Approval of Revisions to Board Policies

- BTRU 1.18 (Conflicts of Interest Commitment")

Secretary Howell presented potential revisions to Board Policy BTRU 1.18.

Ms. Newton made a motion to approve the revision to BTRU 1.18 as presented and posted to the Board portal. Dr. Smith seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and motion was approved.

# VI. Elections to the Board of Visitors

Chair Westbrook stated the following candidates to fill vacant Board of Visitor Presidential appointments were presented in Executive Session without objection:

- A. John P. Harloe Presidential Appointee, 3-year term effective September 1, 2023 August 31, 2026
- B. Eugene M. Varn Presidential Appointee, 3-year term effective September 1, 2023 August 31, 2026

Dr. Smith made a motion to approve the two candidates for the Board of Visitors for a three-year term effective September 1, 2023 through August 31, 2026. Mr. Sherard seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

# VII. Approval of Affiliation Agreement

Chair Westbrook stated this agenda item would be postponed until November.

# VIII. Approval of Betsy Blackmon Dance Program at the University of South Carolina

Chair Westbrook stated the Academic Excellence and Student Experience Committee reviewed and approved the naming of the Betsy Blackmon Dance Program at the University of South Carolina.

Dr. Smith made a motion to approve the naming of the Betsy Blackmon Dance Program at the University of South Carolina. Ms. Moody seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

# IX. Approval of Confidential Candidates for the Award of Honorary Degree

Chair Westbrook stated two confidential candidates for the award of Honorary Degree were presented in Executive Session without objection.

Ms. Newton made a motion to approve the two candidates for the award of Honorary Degree. Ms. Moody seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

Chair Westbrook stated the confidential candidates were approved and would "lay on the table."

# X. <u>President's Report</u>

President Amiridis presented his report.

Chair Westbrook stated the report was received as information.

# XI. Other Matters

Chair Westbrook called for any other matters to come before the Board. There were none.

#### MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Westbrook stated there was a need for an Executive Session for the receipt of legal advice regarding pending litigation and matters covered by attorney-client privilege.

Dr. Smith made the motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Adams seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Westbrook invited the following to remain: Trustees, Dr. Outten, Ms. Thompson, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Seaton, President Amiridis, Secretary Howell, Ms. Dunleavy, Mr. Parham, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Walton, Mr. Bonnoitt, Mr. Smith, and Board support staff.

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Executive Session Removed

# **RETURN TO OPEN SESSION**

# XII. Adjournment

Chair Westbrook declared the meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary