The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

> University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

<u>Governance Committee – Called</u> In Person, Floyd Boardroom, Pastides Alumni Center and By Microsoft Teams June 9, 2023

OPEN SESSION

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair Newton called the meeting to order at 2:20 p.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

Committee Members in attendance: Rose Buyck Newton, Chair C. Dan Adams Alex English Hubert F. Mobley E. Scott Moïse Leah B. Moody C. Dorn Smith III Thad H. Westbrook, *Board Chair*

Other Trustees in attendance: Brian C. Harlan Henry L. Jolly Jr. Richard A. Jones Jr. Miles Loadholt (online) Emma W. Morris (online) Reid T. Sherard Charles H. Williams (online)

<u>Others in attendance</u>: Audrey Korsgaard, USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Emmie Thompson, USC Columbia Student Government President Robin Roberts, Advisor to the Advancement, Engagement and Communications Committee (online)

GC Called 060923

<u>Administrators in attendance</u>: Michael Amiridis, President Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees Donna Arnett, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Terry Parham, General Counsel Ed Walton, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

<u>Media in attendance</u>: Lianna Hubbard, the *Post and Courier* Alexa Jurado, the *State*

Notice:

Chair Newton stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Newton stated there was a need for an Executive Session for the discussion of contractual matters listed on this meeting's agenda and for personnel matters regarding honorary degree recipients, the annual evaluation of the President, and the President's evaluation of his vice presidents.

Dr. Smith made the motion to enter Executive Session, and Mr. Mobley seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Newton invited the following to remain: Trustees, Dr. Korsgaard, Ms. Thompson, Mr. Roberts, Mr. Seaton, President Amiridis, Secretary Howell, Chancellors, Ms. Agardy, Provost Arnett, Ms. Bradley, Mr. Cole, Ms. Dodenhoff, Ms. Dunleavy, Dr. Fridriksson, Dr. Fritz, Ms. Parham, Mr. Parham, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Sobieralski, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Thomas, Mr. Tolliver, Dr. Verzyl, Mr. Walton, Mr. Williams, and Board support staff.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

— Executive Session Removed

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. <u>Contracts and Lease Approvals</u>

General Counsel Terry Parham presented the following contracts for approval.

A. Software Support Services Agreement with Ellucian Company, L.P.

Mr. Mobley made a motion to approve the Software Support Services Agreement with Ellucian Company, L.P. as presented and posted to the Board portal. Dr. Smith seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

B. Subscription Agreement with EBSCO Information Services

Dr. Smith made a motion to approve the Subscription Agreement with EBSCO Information Services as presented and posted to the Board portal. Mr. Mobley seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

III. <u>Report on Contracts and Agreements</u>

Chair Newton stated a report on contracts and agreements was posted to the Board portal, in keeping with Board Policy BTRU 1.04.

Chair Newton stated this update was received as information.

VI. <u>Adjournment</u>

Chair Newton declared the meeting adjourned at 3:48 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary