Skip to Content

Academic Advising

Advising DEI Committee

The DEI Committee is to support the Advising Community at the University of South Carolina by fostering leading practices around diversity, equity, and inclusion in advising through assessment and education.

Advising DEI Committee Charge

 

  1. Assemble a team of advisors from across the University to share passion for diversity, equity, and inclusion and foster positive change.
  2. Develop a diversity statement to be approved by the University Advising Network.
  3. Create a climate survey and enhance existing surveys for students and staff to solicit feedback on the current state of inclusive excellence in advising.
  4. Provide recommendations to the Advisor Training and Development team on DEI education events
    1. Invite content experts from across the University to share knowledge with the advising community through such events
    2. Serve as facilitators for DEI education opportunities
  5. Build a culture of appreciation for diversity, equity, and inclusion and foster a sense of belonging amongst students and advisors.

 

Committee Members

Name College/Department Contact Subcommittee Keywords
(hidden column)
Dr. Nora Dragovic College of Arts and Sciences dragovin@mailbox.sc.edu DEI Education tag 1, tag2
Dr. Pinkney Epps TRIO Programs eppsp@mailbox.sc.edu DEI Education  
Amanda Finnen Exploratory Advising afinnen@sc.edu Diversity Statement  
Amanda Heinsman Honors College  heinsman@mailbox.sc.edu Diversity Statement  
Laken Long Department of Theatre and Dance lakenl@mailbox.sc.edu Climate Survey  
Caleb Morris (co-chair) Exploratory Advising cemorris@email.sc.edu Diversity Statement  
Hannah Quire Honors College hquire@email.sc.edu Climate Survey  
Dr. Claire Robinson (ex-officio) University Advising Center clairer1@mailbox.sc.edu  Climate Survey  
Sam Schmoker Exploratory Advising schmoker@mailbox.sc.edu Climate Survey  
Megan Stanley Myers Department of Biological Sciences ms121@mailbox.sc.edu Diversity Statement  
Dr. Kay Thomas (co-chair) Honors College bankshk@mailbox.sc.edu DEI Education  
Dr. Tameria Warren School of Earth, Ocean & Environment warrent4@mailbox.sc.edu  DEI Education  

 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©