Skip to Content

Academic Advising


DegreeWorks Planner

The DegreeWorks Planner is a tool within DegreeWorks that students and advisors can use to develop the student’s individualized degree plan.

What is DegreeWorks Planner?

The DegreeWorks Planner serves as the home of the advised course schedule. Advisors have previously used the DegreeWorks “notes” function to record the advised course schedule.  While the “notes” feature is still active and will continue to be used during orientation sessions, the DegreeWorks Planner is a tool that can not only record the advised course schedule, but it can also further student collaboration in degree planning and assist with course forecasting.   

 

DegreeWorks Planner Resources

Used as a guide for the first training of academic advisors, this script can aid future colleges/departments with their training. View sample script.

The DegreeWorks Planner Subcommittee collected a series of questions that serve as conversation starters for college implementation of the Planner. View workflow questions.


DegreeWorks Planner Committee Minutes

The University Advisors Network tasked a special subcommittee to focus the university's efforts in rolling out the DegreeWorks Planner to the campus. Minutes of each subcommittee meeting can be found on the UAN's website.

 

DegreeWorks Planner Subcommittee Members

Type Affiliation Name Contact
Co-Chair College of HRSM Valeria Bates bates5@mailbox.sc.edu
Co-Chair College of Education Donna Watson watsond5@mailbox.sc.edu
Member University Registrar Tara George georgetf@mailbox.sc.edu
Member University Registrar Samantha Malpass malpasss@mailbox.sc.edu
Member University Registrar Brittney Vereen  
Member College of Information & Communications Gina Polizzi polizzig@mailbox.sc.edu
Member College of Arts & Sciences Dawn Hiller hillerd@mailbox.sc.edu
Member University Advising Center Brian Dusel duselb@mailbox.sc.edu
Member University Advising Center Claire Robinson  clairer1@mailbox.sc.edu
Member Honors College Becky Hollm hollm@mailbox.sc.edu
Member Honors College Rachel Denmark denmarkr@mailbox.sc.edu
Member College of Engineering & Computing Tiffany Lide lidetl@cec.sc.edu
Member College of Nursing Heidi Waltz waltzh@mailbox.sc.edu