Skip to Content

School of Music

Chamber Innovista logo

Chamber Innovista

Sponsored by Friends of the University of South Carolina School of Music, Chamber Innovista has added a significant cultural element to the research and innovation district in the heart of the city and emphasizes our commitment to new and contemporary music with diverse programming.

Adding vitality to Innovista's lifestyle component, Chamber Innovista provides a world-class collection of exciting and original chamber music performances to both the emerging creative class living and working in the district and to the entire Columbia community.

All concerts on Sundays at 3 p.m. in the School of Music Recital Hall unless otherwise noted.

Co-sponsors, Friends of the School of Music receive complimentary season tickets.


Adults $15; senior citizens and students $5; Season tickets available.
Capitol Tickets 803-251-2222 or Koger Box Office, corner of Greene and Park Streets.

Chamber Innovista 2013-2014 concert dates


Tuesday, November 19, 2013, 7:30 p.m.

The award-winning Parker Quartet, the USC 2013 Quartet-in-Residence, was hailed by The New York Times as "something extraordinary." The Grammy Award-winning Parker Quartet has rapidly distinguished itself as one of the preeminent ensembles of its generation.
Franz Schubert “Quartettsatz”
Thomas Adès “Arcadiana”
Ludwig van Beethoven Op.127

Sunday February 2, 2014, 3:00 p.m.

Gustav Mahler's “Das Lied von der Erde” with a 15-member USC faculty chamber group, including Walter Cuttino and Janet Hopkins, soloists.

Sunday, April 6, 2014, 3:00 p.m.

Kaija Saariaho: Changing Light

Jennifer Parker-Harley, flute, and Tina Stallard, soprano

Johann Hoffmann: Duetto for Mandolin and Violin

Rebecca Hunter, violin, and Jesse Jones, mandolin

Selections from the Great American Songbook

Bert Ligon and Jim Mings, guitar

Alec Wilder: Suite for Double Bass and Guitar

Craig Butterfield, double bass, and Matthew Slotkin, guitar

John Anthony Lennon: Passing Future Past
Joseph Rackers, piano; Clifford Leaman, saxophone; Robert Jesselson, cello; Matthew Slotkin, guitar; Craig Butterfield, double bass; Gordon Hicken, vibraphone