Skip to Content

Darla Moore School of Business

Sustaining Leadership Award

The Center for Executive Succession is proud to announce the inaugural Sustaining Leadership Award. This distinguished award recognizes the CEO who has simultaneously demonstrated effective leadership in their organization in terms of financial, reputational and social performance and a profound commitment to developing the future leadership of that organization.

Congratulations to the 2017 Winner

Ingersoll Rand Chairman and CEO Michael W. Lamach has been named the first recipient of the Sustaining Leadership Award. This award recognizes CEOs who deliver superior financial, social and reputational performance, and demonstrate a profound commitment to developing future organizational leadership. It is the only award of its kind to recognize the contributions of CEOs in delivering superior firm performance and building a deep pipeline of talent in an organization. 

“The Sustaining Leadership Award sets a high bar for CEO performance,” said Patrick Wright, professor and director of Center for Executive Succession. “We were looking for CEOs who consistently deliver financial performance, cultivate strong organizational reputation and demonstrate a personal commitment to developing leaders throughout the organization – all while maintaining a personal reputation for integrity. Mike Lamach exemplifies all of that.” 

Chairman and CEO of Ingersoll Rand since 2010, Lamach was chosen as the inaugural winner of the award by a panel of executives who sit on the board of directors of publicly-traded companies. His selection was based in part on his personal commitment and success in building diversity at all levels at Ingersoll Rand – from the board of directors and senior executives to mid- and entry-level management. 

Lamach was recently honored at a formal ceremony at the Darla Moore School of Business, where he gave a keynote address on building effective leaders and received a $10,000 honorarium which he most generously gave back to USC to support MHR scholarships for minority students!  

For more information on the nomination and selection process for the Sustaining Leadership Award, please contact