Skip to Content

Darla Moore School of Business

Call for Submissions

Page Prize for Sustainability Issues in Business Curricula

The Darla Moore School of Business at the University of South Carolina is honored to announce the ninth annual Dr. Alfred N. and Lynn Manos Page Prize for Sustainability Issues in Business Curricula.

The Page Prize has two objectives:

  1. Encourage the development of relevant and rigorous sustainability curricula for business students
  2. Recognize and provide a database of exemplary sustainability program and course designs to support the integration of sustainability in business education

To achieve these objectives, the school adds the new winning syllabus submissions to the publicly available Moore School database of high-quality teaching materials. We highly encourage educators interested in incorporating sustainability to their classrooms to review these great syllabi.

Who May Submit

Faculty, doctoral students and others are invited to submit non-published materials related to innovative curricula (program design and core components), courses (including full syllabi) or substantial course components (case materials, simulations and course segments) appropriate for rigorous and relevant teaching about sustainability and business.

Full consideration will be given for submissions concerning a range of sustainability dimensions relevant to the business world. We welcome submissions from diverse topic areas, including those related to the natural environment, social responsibility and economic impacts. A faculty committee from the University of South Carolina will evaluate the submissions and select award winners.

Submissions must be original and made with the full consent of all authors for free public access to the submitted materials for use in business education anywhere in the world.

Complete submissions must include the following:

  1. Relevant curriculum, course or course material
  2. A cover letter that provides an overview of the submitted materials (The cover letter should include a discussion of why the submission is innovative in the field of environmental sustainability and how it will help others develop their own sustainability courses/programs.)
  3. CV for (all) author(s) of submission
  4. Completed release form


The grand prize is $1,000, plus a framed print of Aegean Sea #6 certifying the award. Honorable mention prizes will also be awarded at levels of $250 each. Each finalist will receive a print of Aegean Sea #6. The winners will be chosen by a three-member faculty committee from the University of South Carolina. The database of top submissions is available for adoption by business faculty around the world to use in their home institutions. This database is accessible on the Moore School website and through the Moore School's partner page on The Aspen Institute’s website,

Deadline for Submissions

Monday, March 27, 2017, by 5 p.m. Eastern Time.

All submissions must be made electronically to:

Award Announcements

Winning submissions will be announced in spring 2017.


About the Benefactors

Alfred N. Page is dean and professor emeritus of the Henry Bloch (H&R Block) School of Business of the University of Missouri - Kansas City. He previously served as co-chief academic officer and dean for the Sykes College of Business at the University of Tampa, dean of the School of Business at the College of William & Mary, and acting dean of the School of Business at the University of Washington. At Washington, Page helped found the Executive MBA program and served as chair of the Department of Finance, Quantitative Methods and Business Economics for eight years. In addition, while at Washington, he taught as a visiting professor at the University of Chicago, University of Rochester and Stanford University. Also at Washington, Dr. Page was recognized with the Burlington Northern Distinguished Teacher of the Year Award and the Executive MBA Excellence in Teaching Award.

Page graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Science degree from Macalester College. He completed his graduate studies at the University of Chicago, where he earned an MBA and a Ph.D. in Accounting, Finance and Economics.

Lynn Manos Page, an accomplished painter and printmaker currently working in Florida, painted and studied in Venice, Italy, and in Greece for many years. Her paintings, both in pastels and oils, often feature water and boat scenes and are widely collected and included in the public and private collections of institutions world wide, such as Johnson & Johnson, Continental Insurance, H&R Block, Mayo Clinic, Sprint and more. She has participated in single and group exhibitions nationally and internationally.

Page received her B.F.A. degree from the University of Kansas - Lawrence and her M.A. from the University of Missouri - Kansas City. She has also served as an art instructor at the Kansas City Art Institute and worked with Christo and Jean Claude on The Umbrellas, Japan-USA, in Lebec, California.

Page has donated to the Moore School an original diptych of an ocean scene called Aegean Sea #6, images of which will be used in electronic and print promotional materials for the prize. The artist’s research for her Aegean Sea series was done on the islands of Skopelos and Hydra, Greece, in Sept. 2006 and May 2008.