Skip to Content

School of Medicine Greenville


Admissions Committee

The Admissions Committee implements the policies of USCSOM Greenville related to the application/admissions process. The Chair of the Admissions Committee and his appointees evaluate all completed applications to the School of Medicine and select applicants to be interviewed. The final decision about admissions is made by the Admissions Committee, which has the independent responsibility for selection of students. Committee decisions are implemented by the Assistant Dean for Admissions.

The Admissions Committee includes two representatives from the Dean's Office: the Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Admissions and the Assistant Dean for Admissions, who chairs the committee by virtue of his position. There is no limit to the number of terms the chair may serve. Committee members include biomedical and clinical faculty and representatives from GHS senior administration. Faculty members are nominated by the Faculty Representation Committee and elected by the appropriate academic unit. The length of the initial appointment is three years; approximately a third of all members rotate off the committee each year. There is no limit as to the number of terms served. All members of the Admissions Committee are voting members. This committee meets weekly from mid-September through March.

Applicants are interviewed only by members of the Admissions Committee. Each applicant is individually interviewed by two members, each for a period of 45 minutes. All members of the Admissions Committee are required to attend an annual orientation session, which includes instruction on preparation for the interview, question content, sequence and wording of questions, questioning technique, inappropriate questions/behaviors, standards of etiquette, and summarizing the results of the interview. Members are provided with a copy of the admissions manual and are asked to review all policies, procedures and interview matrix forms prior to interviewing any candidates. 



Committee Member Department Term Ends
Paul Catalana, MD; Chair Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Admissions ex officio
Andrew W. Albano, Jr, D.O. Family Medicine 2018
Sergio Arce, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2018
Irfan M. Asif, M.D.  Vice Chair of Academics,
Director of Sports Medicine Fellowship, Dept of Family Medicine
Melissa Bailey, M.D. Internal Medicine - Geriatrics 2019
Asa Black, Ph.D. Anatomy 2018
Thomas Blackwell, M.D. Assistant Dean, Longitudinal Clinical Education
Director, EMT Training Program
Professor of Emergency Medicine
Jack Bonner, M.D. Psychiatry 2020
Christopher G. Carsten III, M.D. Vascular Surgery, Chief 2018
Otis Cosby, M.D. Occupational Medicine 2020
Andrew Cross, M.D. Surgery 2020
Paul Davis, M.D. Surgery 2017
Lauren Demosthenes, M.D. Ob/Gyn 2018
Kacey Eichelberger, M.D. Ob/Gyn 2018
James M. Ellis, M.D. Medical Director, UMG 2018
John Emerson, M.D. Family Medicine 2019
Will Flanagan, M.D. Urology 2020
William Frazier, M.D. Otolaryngology 2018
Lewis Gilpin, M.D. Radiology 2020
Joy Green-Hadden, D.N.P. Nursing 2020
Christen Hairston, Ph.D. Student Services 2018
Gail Hardaway Biomedical Sciences 2019
Angela Hutcheson, M.D. Dermatology 2019
Mendy Ingiaimo, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2020
Malcolm Isley Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer, GHS 2019
Anjani Jammula, M.D. Internal Medicine 2018
Mohammed Khalil, Ph.D. Anatomy & Histology 2018
Alan Leahey, M.D. Ophthalmology 2017
Marty Lutz, M.D. Emergency Medicine 2018
Phil Manley, M.D. Pediatrics 2020
Charles Marguet, M.D. Urology 2018
Paul B. Miller, M.D. Ob/Gyn 2018
Thomas Nathaniel, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2018
Alfred Nelson, M.D. Neurosurgery 2018
Thomas Pace, MD Orthopaedics 2020
Sarah Payne-Poff, M.D. Pediatric Rheumatology 2018
Jayne Reuben, Ph.D. Pharmacology 2019
Mary Rippon, M.D. Surgery 2020
William Roudebush, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2018
Rebecca Russ-Sellers, Ph.D. Health Policy 2019
Robert Saul, M.D. Pediatrics 2018
Michelle Taylor-Smith Vice President of Patient Care Services, GHS
Chief Nursing Officer and Chief Experience Officer, GHS
Kelly Smith, Ph.D. Behavioral Sciences 2019
Jennifer Springhart, M.D. Emergency Medicine 2020
Tod Tappert

Vice President of Culture and Learning and System Chief Learning Officer, GHS

E. Christopher Troup, M.D. Pediatric Neurosurgery 2017
Matt Tucker, Ph.D. Neurosciences 2017
Shanna Williams, Ph.D. Anatomy 2018
Cindy Youssef Academics Chief of Staff, GHS 2019