Skip to Content

My Law School

Pre-Approved Field Placements

Below are pre-approved field placement opportunities where the University of South Carolina School of Law has previously placed externs and has a working relationship with the field placement office. Students who would like an opportunity at an office not included on the list must seek approval from the Director of Externships and Special Academic Programs to ensure the placement meets the program’s requirements. All proposed field placements must be audited by the Director of Externships and Special Academic Programs.

The University of South Carolina School of Law does not guarantee a placement for all externship applicants.

Externship Opportunities

Administrative Law

  • Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
  • Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • Health and Human Services
  • U.S. Attorney’s Office, Civil Division
  • U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
  • Fort Gordon, Office of the Staff Judge Advocate (Augusta, Georgia)
  • Fort Jackson, Office of the Staff Judge Advocate
  • Human Affairs Commission
  • Latin American Association (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Santee Cooper
  • SC Attorney General’s Office — Environmental Crimes
  • SC Attorney General’s Office — Post Conviction Relief
  • SC Department of Corrections
  • SC Department of Education
  • SC Department of Employment Works
  • SC Department of Health and Environmental Control
  • SC Department of Health and Human Services
  • SC Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
  • SC Department of Natural Resources
  • SC Department of Revenue
  • Ocean and Coastal Resources Management
  • Office of the Governor
  • University of South Carolina Office of Compliance

Childrens Law

Children’s Law
  • Kershaw County Department of Social Services
  • Kershaw County Guardian Ad Litem
  • Lexington County Department of Juvenile Justice
  • Lexington County Department of Social Services
  • Lexington County Public Defender
  • Richland County Public Defender
  • Richland County Public Defender’s Office — Juvenile Justice Re-Entry Program
  • Richland County Solicitor
  • Richland County Department of Social Services
  • South Carolina Appleseed Legal Justice Center
  • South Carolina Attorney General’s Office of Human Trafficking
  • South Carolina Department of Education
  • South Carolina Legal Services

Criminal Law

  • Federal Public Defender
  • U.S. Attorney’s Office, Criminal Division
  • Aiken County Solicitor
  • Beaufort County Solicitor
  • Charleston County Public Defender
  • Horry County Solicitor
  • Kershaw County Solicitor’s Office
  • Lexington County Public Defender
  • Lexington County Solicitor
  • Orangeburg Public Defender’s Office
  • Richland County Public Defender
  • Richland County Public Defender’s Office — Juvenile Justice Re-Entry Program
  • Richland County Solicitor
  • South Carolina Attorney General’s Office
  • South Carolina Commission on Indigent Defense — Capital Trial Division
  • South Carolina Law Enforcement Division
  • South Carolina Victims Assistance Network
  • York County Public Defender

In House Counsel

In House Counsel
  • AgFirst Farm Credit Bank
  • Electric Cooperatives of South Carolina
  • Fidelity National Title Insurance Company
  • Honda of South Carolina
  • Lake City Partnership Council
  • Lexington Medical Center
  • Palmetto Health
  • South Carolina PEBA
  • TRU Simulation + Training
  • University of South Carolina’s Technology Communication Office

Judicial — State

Supreme Court
  • The Honorable John C. Few
  • The Honorable Kaye G. Hearn
Court of Appeals
  • The Honorable J. Douglas McCullough (NC)
  • The Honorable Bruce Williams
Circuit Court
  • The Honorable DeAndrea Benjamin
  • The Honorable Paul Burch
  • The Honorable G. Thomas Cooper
  • The Honorable Edgar Gregory (NC)
  • The Honorable John C. Hayes III
  • The Honorable Robert Hood
  • The Honorable William P. Keesley
  • The Honorable Alison Renee Lee
  • The Honorable Casey Manning
  • The Honorable Knox McMahon
  • The Honorable Clifton Newman
  • The Honorable Thomas Russo
Family Court
  • The Honorable Paul Garfinkel
  • The Honorable Michelle Hurley
  • The Honorable Dorothy Mobley Jones
  • The Honorable Gwendlyne Y. Jones
  • The Honorable George McFaddin
  • The Honorable Nancy C. McLin
  • The Honorable Leslie Riddle
Masters in Equity
  • The Honorable James Spence
  • The Honorable Joseph Strickland
Probate Court
  • The Honorable Amy McCulloch
  • The Honorable Carolyn Rogers
Magistrate’s Court
  • The Honorable Caroline Streater
Administrative Law Court
  • The Honorable Deborah Brooks Durden
  • The Honorable Phillip Lenski
Workers’ Compensation Commission
  • J. Keith Roberts, Esq.

Judicial — Federal

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
  • The Honorable Henry Floyd
  • The Honorable Dennis Shedd (by special application)
U.S. Federal District Court
  • The Honorable Joseph Anderson
  • The Honorable Michelle Childs
  • The Honorable Robert Conrad (Western District of NC)
  • The Honorable R. Bryan Harwell
  • The Honorable Mary Geiger Lewis
  • The Honorable Margaret B. Seymour
U.S. Federal Magistrate Court
  • The Honorable Paige Gossett
U.S. Bankruptcy Court
  • The Honorable David Duncan
  • The Honorable John Waites


South Carolina Senate
  • Senator Chip Campsen
  • Senator Tom Davis
  • Senator Marlon Kimpson
  • Senator Shane Massey
  • Senator Luke Rankin
South Carolina House
  • Representative Bruce Bannister
  • Representative J. Derham Cole, Jr.
  • Representative Laurie Funderburk
  • Representative Chris Hart
  • Representative Walt McLeod
  • Representative Tommy Pope
  • Representative Todd Rutherford
  • Representative Ronnie Sabb
  • Representative James E. Smith, Jr.