Table of Contents


Information for specific audiences:

University Advisors Network (UAN)
Advisory Council Members

The University Advisors Network (UAN) is the coordinating council for advisors at USC. Each college has a representative on the UAN who serves as a liaison to relay college comment and share institutional information to enhance campus-wide advising effectiveness.

View the council meeting times and minutes.

UAN Advisory Council Co-Chairs
  • Loren Knapp (Faculty Co-Chair)
    Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Helen Doerpinghaus (Administrative Co-Chair)
    Professor, Moore School of Business
    Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies
UAN Advisory Council Members
  • Arts and Sciences
    Loren Knapp
    Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Athletics
    Katie Ethridge (803-777-0319)
    Academic Advisor, Athletics Department
  • Business, Moore School of
    Brian Shelton
    Associate Director, Undergraduate Division, Moore School of Business
  • Education
    Donna Watson
    Student Services Program Coordinator, Student Affairs, College of Education
  • Engineering and Computing
    Susan Jarvie
    Academic Advisor, Student Services, College of Engineering and Computing
  • Extended University
    Melissa Lowe
    Director, Adult Students Services, Extended University
  • Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management
    Reenea Harrison
    Undergraduate Advisor, College of Hospitality, Retail, & Sport Management

  • Journalism and Mass Communications
    Art Farlowe
    Student Services Director, School of Journalism and Mass Communications
  • Libraries
    Jack Turner
    Director of LIBR 101 Online Research and Instruction , Thomas Cooper Library
  • Palmetto College/Regional Campuses
    Ashley Lloyd
    Organizational Leadership Advisor, USC Lancaster
  • Nursing
    Heidi Waltz
    Student Services Manager/Undergraduate Academic Advisor, College of Nursing
  • Pharmacy
    Diane Wise
    Pre-Pharmacy Advisor/Graduate Coordinator,
    Department of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences,
    College of Pharmacy
  • Public Health, Arnold School of
    Kara Montgomery
    Clinical Assistant Professor, Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior,
    Arnold School of Public Health
  • South Carolina Honors College
    Rebecca Sanders
    Director of of Pre-Medical Advisement, SC Honors College
  • Social Work
    Rushondra James
    BSW and Undergraduate Student Services Program Coordinator, College of Social Work
  • Student Affairs and Academic Support
    Claire Robinson (803-777-4885)
    Associate Director, Student Success Center


UAN Advisory Council Ex-Officio Members
  • Steve Barth (803-777-5653)
    SARS Administrator
    Online Advising Scheduling

  • Ed Black (803-777-7700)
    Associate Director of Operations - Office of Undergraduate Admissions
  • Jennifer Bloom (803-777-3578)
    Faculty Senate Curricula and Courses Committee Chair
    Associate Professor, Statistics, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Meghan Fields (803-777-6727)
    Administrative Coordinator - Office of Academic Programs
  • Nichole Knutson (803-777-4612)
    Director of Retention Strategy - Planning and Assessment

Other important links:

Columbia, SC 29208 • 803-777-2808 •