University of South Carolina

USC names Carolina, McNair scholars

By Megan Sexton,, 803-777-1421

The University of South Carolina’s incoming freshman class will welcome some of the country’s and the state’s top students – the Carolina and McNair Scholars.

The recipients of the Carolina Scholar award, the university’s most valuable and prestigious scholarship for in-state students, and the McNair Scholar award, the most prestigious scholarship for out-of-state students, will join the Carolina community in August.

“The Carolina Scholar award is the flagship scholarship at the state’s flagship university, and the companion McNair Scholar award is nationally competitive, each attracting the best and brightest students from our state, region and nation,” said Scott Verzyl, USC’s associate vice president for enrollment management and director of undergraduate admissions. “These students come to USC with many accomplishments and talents, and our goal is to help create the conditions for these outstanding students to achieve the highest levels of academic success here at USC and beyond, wherever their careers may take them. We have high expectations for our top scholars, and not surprisingly they usually exceed them.”

More than 2,200 students applied for the Carolina and McNair Scholars awards, making it the largest and most competitive applicant pool in the university’s history. USC invited 90 finalists to campus to compete for the Carolina and McNair scholarships. This year’s 20 McNair Scholars include students from eight states, while the 21 Carolina Scholars come from nine counties in South Carolina.

The Carolina Scholarship is valued at $10,000 per year for four years. The Carolina Scholar finalist award is valued at $7,000 per year for four years.

The Carolina Scholars are Rozanna Catherine Buddin of Murrells Inlet; Riley Chambers, Charles Kyle Harper, Thomas Connor Hoffman, Christian Kloot, Laharee Parikh and Ming Yee Wong, all of Columbia; Sona Chowdhary and Luke Havens of Florence; Sonia Lina Davda, Mary “Hannah” Greenway and Sybil “Katy” Hallman, all of Greenville; Jacob Dustan of Johns Island; John Isenhower of Greenwood; Leon David Leggett of Mount Pleasant; Elizabeth Moore of Greer; Justin Moore and Austin Williams of Irmo; Gamble Augusta Ouzts of Charleston; Anna Ridenour of Summerville; and Lisa Lynn Schexnayder of Myrtle Beach.

The Carolina Scholar finalists are William Ambrose of Aynor; Daniel Young of Florence; Creighton-Elizabeth Boggs and Laura Dean of Columbia; Christina-Lin Brown of Charleston; Anna D’Annunzio of Mount Pleasant; Courtney Gantt of Beech Island; Ana Gibson of Greer; James Freder Pike of Lady’s Island; and Cameron Reid of Murrells Inlet.

The McNair Scholarship is the most valuable and prestigious scholarship for out-of-state students. The award is valued at $15,000 per year for four years. The McNair Scholar Finalist award is valued at $11,000 per year for four years.

McNair Scholars for 2012 are Patrick Barboun of Lincoln University, Pa., Jamie Boller of Collierville, Tenn., Riley Brady of Moseley, Va., Christina Cantu of Doylestown, Pa., Elizabeth Crummy of Orlando, Fla., Katherine Driscoll of Pensacola, Fla., Alexander Duloch of New Smyrna Beach, Fla., Keenan Dunkley of Waxhaw, N.C., Charlotte Eckmann of Lexington, Ky., David Galban of King of Prussia, Pa., Weston Grove of Houston, Texas, Camille Harris of Atlanta, Ga., Rachel Kitchens of Cypress, Texas, Rachel LeMalefant of Glenmoore, Pa., Nicholas Lenze of Summerfield, N.C., Morgan Lundy of Dacula, Ga., Nicole Newsom of Buford, Ga., Matthew Price of Fletcher, N.C., Jacob Sims of Louisville, Ky. and Rachel Smoak of Cary, N.C.

The McNair Scholarship finalists are Taylor Karlin of Poolesville, Md., Leanna O’Brien of East Setauket, N.Y. and Michelle Wilson of Crystal Lake, Ill.

The McNair Scholars program began in 1998 and is supported by a $30 million gift from university alumni Robert and Janice McNair.  The Carolina Scholars program was developed by USC in 1969 and is funded through endowments established by generous alumni and corporations.

News and Internal Communications

Posted: 06/25/12 @ 12:00 AM | Updated: 06/27/12 @ 11:24 AM | Permalink

About the Carolina Scholarship

  • Awarded to 21 top in-state students
  • Valued at $10,000 per year for four years
  • Developed by the university in 1969 and funded by numerous alumni and corporations.
  • Carolina Scholar finalist award valued at $7,000 a year for four years

About the McNair Scholarship

  • Awarded to 20 top out-of-state students
  • Valued at $15,000 per year for four years
  • Supported by a $30 million gift from USC alumni Robert and Janice McNair
  • McNair Scholar Finalist award is valued at $11,00 a year for four years



Media Relations

USC Times