University of South Carolina

Top scholars join freshman class

The University of South Carolina’s freshman class, already the best in the university’s history, includes some of the nation’s and the Palmetto State’s top scholars.

The students are recipients of the Carolina Scholarship, the university’s most valuable and prestigious scholarship for in-state students, and the McNair Scholarship, the most prestigious scholarship for our-of-state students.

“This is an outstanding group of young scholars,” said Scott Verzyl, executive director of admissions USC. “The academic ability and personal character of these students is exemplary. Together, with the talent of the entire freshman class, they will be a group that will bring distinction to the university and help USC advance to the next level.”

The Carolina Scholarship is valued at $10,000 per year for four years. The Carolina Scholar Finalist award is valued at $7,000 per year for four years.

The 2011 Carolina Scholars are Connor Bain, Andrew Dixon, Mark Fisher and Thaddeus Moore of Columbia; Delaney Horel and Tyler Smith, both of Irmo; Anna Caldwell of Easley, Matthew Coleman of Rock Hill, Georgia Froman of Simpsonville, Nicholas Liger of Surfside Beach, Hilary Martin of Boiling Springs, Nina Panvelker of Florence, Andrew Patterson of Blythewood, Michael Prowse of Greer, Nathan Sairam of Lexington, Mason Smith of Newberry, Thomas Spurgeon of Greenville, Rebecca Thompson of Mount Pleasant, and Taylor Treece of Myrtle Beach.

Finalists are Emily Theus and Lauren Williams of Columbia, Yuwei Wei of Irmo, and Daniel Wood of Moore.

The McNair Scholarship is the most valuable and prestigious scholarship for out-of-state students. The award is valued at $15,000 per year for four years. The McNair Scholar Finalist award is valued at $11,000 per year for four years.

McNair Scholars are Lydia Adams of Knoxville, Tenn., Emily Andreoli of Huntersville, N.C., Emma De Neef of Charlotte, N.C., Christina Dooley of Roswell, Ga., Andrea Eggleston of Omaha, Neb., Elizabeth Gergel of Asheville, N.C., Savannah Grunewald of Madison, Miss., Miller Hane of Baton Rouge, La., Katelyn Hayworth of Summerfield, N.C., Thomas Horne of Bosnic, N.C., Siobhan Kibbey of Darnestown, Md., Viki Knapp of Hinsdale, Ill., Andrew Kovtun of Solon, Ohio, Kenny Morris of Wilmington, N.C., Kyla Risko of Charlotte, N.C., Tyler Roberts of Huntersville, N.C., James Sanford of Charlotte, N.C., Kristi Sutherland of Bloomfield Hills, Mich., David Wheaton of Chapel Hill, N.C., and Elisha Zhang of Charlotte, N.C.

Four others, Daniel Fischer of Jacksonville, Fla., Kimberly Glatz of Raleigh, N.C., Eleanor Gray of Palatine, Ill., and Patrick Kennedy of Atlanta, Ga., were selected as McNair Scholar finalists.

The McNair Scholars program began in 1998 and is supported by a $30 million gift from university alumni Robert and Janice McNair, and the Carolina Scholars Program was developed by USC in 1969.

By Office of Media Relations

Posted: 08/08/11 @ 10:00 PM | Updated: 08/09/11 @ 9:27 AM | Permalink



Media Relations

USC Times